The Official Star Wars: Episode VII Cast Announced – UPDATED


We knew something was coming tonight. Earlier, Brendon said:

There has been some in-the-shadows talk that we'll not necessarily have to wait that long

But even still, it seemed like something would be saved for May 4th. It won't be the thing that explains this other comment from Brendon's previous story, would it?

So maybe [Zac Efron] is in. Or maybe… well. Anyway. Let's just say that there's more than one Star Wars film in the offing, and Lucasfilm will want to get started on the next one relatively soon, so… hmmm….

No. It's way too early for that. And surely it's too early for a title?

Anyway, that's the whole cast above, at today's table read, and here's the official announcement:

The Star Wars team is thrilled to announce the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII.

Actors John Boyega, Daisy Ridley, Adam Driver, Oscar Isaac, Andy Serkis, Domhnall Gleeson, and Max von Sydow will join the original stars of the saga, Harrison Ford, Carrie Fisher, Mark Hamill, Anthony Daniels, Peter Mayhew, and Kenny Baker in the new film.

Director J.J. Abrams says, "We are so excited to finally share the cast of Star Wars: Episode VII. It is both thrilling and surreal to watch the beloved original cast and these brilliant new performers come together to bring this world to life, once again. We start shooting in a couple of weeks, and everyone is doing their best to make the fans proud."

Star Wars: Episode VII is being directed by J.J. Abrams from a screenplay by Lawrence Kasdan and Abrams. Kathleen Kennedy, J.J. Abrams, and Bryan Burk are producing, and John Williams returns as the composer. The movie opens worldwide on December 18, 2015.

About Linda Ge