Dune: The Sisterhood Sees 5 More Join HBO Max Prequel Series Cast

A little less than a week after we learned that Emily Watson (Chernobyl), Shirley Henderson (Harry Potter), and Indira Varma (Game Of Thrones) are kicking off filming on HBO Max and Legendary Television's Dune: The Sisterhood, we now know who is set to join them. Based on the novel Sisterhood Of Dune by Brian Herbert and Kevin J. Anderson, the prequel series is welcoming Sarah-Sofie Boussnina (The Colony), Shalom Brune-Franklin (The Tourist), Faoileann Cunningham (The Northman), Aoife Hinds (Normal People), and Chloe Lea (Foundation) to the cast. As for who they will be playing and a whole lot more, check out our updated preview below.

Image: HBO Max

What We Know About HBO Max's Dune: The Sisterhood

Frank Herbert's Dune portrays a future in which humanity has spread across the galaxy to thousands of worlds, all ruled by the Padishah Emperor, The Imperium. Set 10,000 years before the ascension of Paul Atreides, the prequel series explores this universe through the eyes of a mysterious order of women: the Bene Gesserit. Given extraordinary abilities by their mastery of the body and the mind, the Bene Gesserit expertly weave through the feudal politics and intrigue of The Imperium, pursuing plans of their own that will ultimately lead them to the enigmatic planet Arrakis — known to its inhabitants as Dune.

Varma's Empress Natalya is a formidable royal who united thousands of worlds in her marriage to Emperor Corrino. Watson and Henderson portray Valya Harkonnen and Tula Harkonnen, respectively, the formidable Harkonnen Sisters, who have risen to power in the Sisterhood, a secret organization of women who will go on to become the Bene Gesserit. Boussnina's Princess Ynez is an independent young princess dealing with the pressures of her responsibility as heir to the Golden Lion Throne. Brune-Franklin's Mikaela is a strong-willed Fremen woman who serves the royal family while longing for a home planet she's never known. Cunningham's Sister Jen is a fierce, unpredictable acolyte in training at the Sisterhood School who rarely reveals her emotional core. Hinds' Sister Emeline is a zealous acolyte descended from a long line of martyrs who carries fervent religion to her training at the Sisterhood. Lea's Lila is the youngest acolyte at the Sisterhood School with a deep empathy beyond her years.

Created by co-showrunner & writer Diane Ademu-John, the series also sees Alison Schapker serving as co-showrunner. In addition, Johan Renck will direct the premiere episode. Ademu-John, Schapker, Renck, Denis Villeneuve, Jon Spaihts, Scott Z. Burns, Matthew King, John Cameron, Cait Collins, and Brian Herbert executive produce. In addition, Byron Merritt and Kim Herbert will executive produce on behalf of the Frank Herbert estate, with Anderson serving as co-producer. HBO Max's Dune: The Sisterhood is co-produced by the streaming service and Legendary Television, the TV arm of Legendary, which is behind the current film franchise.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Ray FlookAbout Ray Flook

Serving as Television Editor since 2018, Ray began five years earlier as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought onto the core BC team in 2017.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.