SNL Editors Unanimously Ratify Union Contract: The Show Will Go On!

A week after a tentative agreement with NBC was reached, the post-production editors at SNL ratified their first-ever union contract.

It's official! Host Quinta Brunson (Abbott Elementary) and musical guest Lil Yachty won't have to worry about strike delays or picket lines when they take the stages of Studio 8H on April 1st. A little less than a week after NBC's Saturday Night Live's post-production editors reached a tentative agreement with NBC to avert what would've been the first show-specific strike in nearly a half-century. On Wednesday, the agreement was unanimously ratified during a meeting of the SNL editors and union representatives. "The solidarity and bravery of this crew are just so impressive," said Cathy Repola, National Executive Director of the Editors Guild. "They fought not just to improve their own working lives; they have also set a standard that will benefit all those who follow in their footsteps at this TV comedy institution. It was an honor to work with them on reaching this significant agreement." Under the editors' first-ever union contract, workers will see pay increases up to 60% (along with bonuses for ratification). In addition, workers will also receive initial increases that will range from 7.5% to 33.5% (in effect once the show returns from hiatus). Healthcare benefits for all members are also included, as are provisions for meals, hotel stays & car services. Finally, a joint commitment was also included to promote diversity, equity, and inclusion.

SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE — Season 48 Cast Shot — Pictured: (top row l-r) Michael Longfellow, Sarah Sherman, Punkie Johnson, Mikey Day, Ego Nwodim, Heidi Gardner, Colin Jost, Molly Kearney, Andrew Dismukes, James Austin Johnson; (bottom row l-r) Marcello Hernandez, Michael Che, Bowen Yang, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Chloe Fineman, Devon Walker — (Photo by: Mary Ellen Matthews/NBC)

NBC's SNL Season 48 includes Michael Che, Mikey Day, Andrew Dismukes, Chloe Fineman, Heidi Gardner, Marcello Hernandez, James Austin Johnson, Punkie Johnson, Colin Jost, Molly Kearney, Michael Longfellow, Ego Nwodim, Sarah Sherman, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Devon Walker, and Bowen Yang. Executive produced by Michaels, SNL is directed by Liz Patrick, with alum Darrell Hammond announcing. Based out of Studio 8H in Rockefeller Center, the long-running late-night sketch comedy/music series is produced by SNL Studios in association with Universal Television and Broadway Video.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Stay up-to-date and support the site by following Bleeding Cool on Google News today!

Ray FlookAbout Ray Flook

Serving as Television Editor since 2018, Ray began five years earlier as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought onto the core BC team in 2017.
Comments will load 20 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.