Alan Robert Announces The Shunned One

Alan Robert, bassist and songwriter for the band Life of Agony, has teamed up again with IDW Publishing to release his fourth creator-owned horror comic miniseries called The Shunned One next year.

The series is described as:

The-Shunned-One-Iss1-Promo-new-webA tale of winged woe focusing on an Angel of Death who goes rogue after being ordered to take several innocent lives. This guilt-ridden death angel begins to carry out his own judgment on humans, based on their actions instead of whether their names appear on the preordained Death List. The angel's unsanctioned murders instantly alter the balance within the universe and trigger a string of unforeseen disasters that spiral out of control. Banished from Heaven by his Creator and hunted by a pack of vengeful death angels, The Shunned One must hide among the humans to survive while trying to reverse the damage he's done.

The musician-turned-comic-creator had this to say:

This will definitely be my darkest series to date. The tragedies in Newtown and Aurora really hit home for me. I can't even begin to imagine the pain those families are going through. I suppose The Shunned One is my subconscious reaction to events like that—just trying to cope with all this death and my worst fears in my own way.

And IDW's Editor-in-Chief Chris Ryall added:

I'm happy to once again put my life in Alan Robert's hands in the form of his latest series for IDW. As he's proven with his numerous series for us already, he's an expert at telling dark, fantastical tales, and The Shunned One, featuring the Angel of Death himself, is only the latest reason we're happy to keep walking into dark territory with him.

The-Shunned-One-Iss1-Promo3-webRobert's previous series with IDW were: Killogy, Crawl To Me and Wire Hangers.

About Dan Wickline

Has quietly been working at Bleeding Cool for over three years. He has written comics for Image, Top Cow, Shadowline, Avatar, IDW, Dynamite, Moonstone, Humanoids and Zenescope. He is the author of the Lucius Fogg series of novels and a published photographer.