Things To Do In New York and Philadelphia This Week If You Like Comics

Tuesday, February 25th

rubegoldberg-cover72

The New York Comics & Picture-story Symposium will be held on Tuesday, February 25, 2014 at 7:00 PM at Parsons The New School, 2 West 13th Street, in the Bark Room (off the lobby). The event is free and open to the public.

The presentation will be by Jennifer George and Charles Kochman on The Art of Rube Goldberg. They say: "Not many of us make it into the dictionary as an adjective. But then again, Rube Goldberg was no ordinary noun. He was a cartoonist, humorist, sculptor, author, engineer, and inventor, and in a 72-year career he wrote and illustrated nearly 50,000 cartoons which were syndicated in daily newspapers throughout the world. In The Art of Rube Goldberg (Abrams ComicArts) author Jennifer George celebrates all aspects of her grandfather's life by showcasing more than seven hundred illustrations, alongside an introduction by bestselling author Adam Gopnik and other essayists, providing a definitive look at this quintessential American cartoonist".

Tuesday, February 25th

1506398_412058402230578_791094545_n

A World War 3 Illustrated #45 release event will be held from 7PM to 9:45PM at the School of Visual Arts Auditorium at 209 East 23rd street in New York in room # 311. They say: "Comic book stories about death? Not easy material, but World War 3 Illustrated has never set out to gather and anthologize soothing entertainment; rather the magazine's editors (Peter Kuper, Scott Cunningham for Issue #45) continually strive to serve up illustrated narratives that relate to real concerns beyond the page, issue after issue. It was only a matter of time before the comic book artists and writers of this decades-strong collective focused in on death, Before and After".

Performing live comic book material at the event will be: Peter Kuper, Hayley Gold, Sandy Jimenez, Mac McGill, Paula Hewitt Amram, Steven Brodner, Sabrina Jones, Thomas Woodruff, Anthony Freda, Seth Tobocman (featuring music by: Eric Gonzalez Blitz, Andy Laties, Ben Barson, Jenny Gonzalez Blitz, La Femme Natal, and others,) and a special screening of "Death and the Mother," an animated film by Ruth Lingford. The event is free and open to the public.

Saturday, March 1st

1920446_675073359198103_2021096983_n
Locust Moon Comics at 34 Sout 40th Street in Philadelphia will be hosting "An Evening with Toby Cypress" from 7PM onwards in celebration and signing of the recent launch of his new comic with Frank Barbiere from Dark Horse The White Suits.

Saturday, March 1st

1506813_738811226138682_1383993707_n

The one day comic show/convention Mike Carbo's New York Comic Book Marketplace will be held at the Hotel New Yorker at 481 Eighth Avenue in New York from 10AM to 6PM. This is a ticketed event, with early admission (from 9AM) for $30. The show will have a number of comics and pop culture guests including Rowdy Roddy Piper, Neal Adams, Jim Steranko, Arthur Suydam, George Perez, Joe Sinott, and Herb Trempe, as well as panels and vendors.

Monday, March 3rd

1922493_10152628277239535_1724965197_n

A Will Eisner Week event, "Will Eisner, Champion of the Graphic Novel" will be held in conjunction with the New York Comics & Picture-story Symposium at Parsons, The New School, 2 West 13th Street, New York, NY, in the Bark Room (off the lobby) from 7PM to 9PM. Writer Paul Levitz (former president/publisher of DC Comics) will read from "Will Eisner: The Dreamer and the Dream," Levitz's work-in-progress about Eisner's unique role in the evolution of the American Graphic Novel, to be published in 2015 by Abrams ComicArts. This event is free and open to the public.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.