Things To Do in London – If You Like Comics: April 2019

Things to do in London in April 2019… if you like comics, of course. Exhibitions followed by events… let us know if we missed any.

Exhibitions:

Things To Do in London – If You Like Comics: April 2019

More Instant Mash -Carl Stimpson Exhibition Clear line painter Carl Stimpson returns to Orbital's Eisner-winning gallery for an incredible new exhibition – More Instant Mash. With a range of original paintings and screenprints on display, Stimpson captures a mix of pop art pulp, Hergé's clear line sensibility, and comic book nostalgia. Until 30th April, Orbital Comics.

YiMiao Shih: Rabbrexit Means Rabbrexit, House Of Illustraton, Kings Cross, until July. Shih has created a series of 'relics' from the UK's imaginary rabbit population, including large-scale embroidered epics, newly minted 52p and 48p coins and aeroplane landing cards for rabbits stripped of their British citizenship. These satirical pieces draw together Shih's real-world observations of the nationalistic fervor, economic uncertainty and fragmentation of societal bonds brought about by Brexit.

EVENTS:

Tuesday, 2nd April.

Shoe Lane Comic Forum, Shoe Lane Library, Little New Street. 5.30-7pm

Islington Comic Forum, North Library, Manor Gardens. 6.30-7.30pm.

Wednesday, 3rd April.

Marylebone Graphic Novel Club, Marylebone Library 6:30pm – 7:45pm

Thursday, 4th April.

Things To Do in London – If You Like Comics: April 2019

oh no Launch Party with Alex Norris, Gosh Comics, 7-9pm Alex Norris, creator Webcomic Name, will be here to sign his new collection from Andrews McMeel, with a limited edition Gosh! Bookplate to go with it.

Performing and Picturing Patienthood: Exploring Graphic Illness Narratives by London College of Communication, Elephant and Castle. Artist and publisher roundtable with Andrew Godfrey-Meers, Damon Herd, Paula Knight, John Miers, Corinne Pearlman, Tony Pickering, Lucy Sullivan, 5.30-8.30pm.

Troopers, Guests Only, Location available to guests.

Friday, 5th April

Symposium – Performing and Picturing Patienthood: Exploring Graphic Illness Narratives by London College of Communication, Elephant and Castle, 10am-7pm with Elisabeth El Refaie, Andrew Godfrey-Meers, Simon Grennan, Damon Herd, Erin La Cour, Stefan Tino Kulnik, John Miers, Linda Miller, Tony Pickering, Ian Williams

10.30 am: Introduction to archival research at LCC

10.45 am: Keynote lecture Elisabeth El Refaie (Cardiff University), Picturing the diseased body through visual metaphor

12.00 pm: Panel 1,

Illness and Identity Andrew Godfrey-Meers (University of Dundee), Graphic Medicine as Myth and Ritual

Stefan Tino Kulnik (Kingston University), Sense of Self in Self-Management in Neurological Conditions

Erin La Cour (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Face as Landscape: Refiguring Illness and Disability in David B's Epileptic

2.15 pm: Archival material handling session
2.45pm: Workshop, Linda Miller, Graphic Medicine: An Interactive Workshop Reflecting on "Sparkling Moments" in Health Care

3.45 pm: Panel 2, Artist's talks

Ian Williams, Bad Doctors

Damon Herd (University of Dundee), Public Information Comics

Tony Pickering, Diabetes Year One

5.15 pm: Performing on the Page: Causes and Consequences of Drawing Disease

John Miers (Kingston Schoool of Art) in conversation with Simon Grennan (University of Chester)

5.45 pm: Closing remarks

Saturday, 6th April.

Things To Do in London – If You Like Comics: April 2019

Propaganda: Comic-Con Party, Dingwalls, Camden Lock, 10:30pm – 3am

Learn to make a zine with illustrator Hayley Wells, 2-4pm, Dark Side Comics, Chelmsford

Pen to Print – Comic Book Workshop with Wallis Eates, Barking Library, 10am-noon

Sunday, 7th April

London Comic Mart, 12-7pm, Royal National Hotel, Bedford Way

Monday, 8th April

MVP Comic Book Design workshop (11 – 16 year olds) at The Paradox Community Centre, Chingford. 5 Day Workshop to learn how to make comic booksand edit them with the latest software.

Church Street Library Graphic Novel Club, Church Street Library, Marylebone, 6:30 – 8pm

Brompton Library Graphic Novel Reading Group, Upstairs in the Brompton Library Learning Space, 6:30 – 7.30pm

Tuesday, 9th April.

Peckham Library Graphic Novel Book Group, Peckham Hill Street, 6bromppm to 7.30pm

MVP Comic Book Design workshop (11 – 16 year olds) at The Paradox Community Centre, Chingford. 5 Day Workshop to learn how to make comic books and edit them with the latest software.

Wednesday, 10th April.

Reads March 2019: The Umbrella Academy Vol 1, Gosh Comics,  7-9pm

MVP Comic Book Design workshop (11 – 16 year olds) at The Paradox Community Centre, Chingford. 5 Day Workshop to learn how to make comic booksand edit them with the latest software.

Thursday, 11th April.

MVP Comic Book Design workshop (11 – 16 year olds) at The Paradox Community Centre, Chingford. 5 Day Workshop to learn how to make comic booksand edit them with the latest software.

Friday, 12th April.

Things To Do in London – If You Like Comics: April 2019

Swords & Sorcery Life Drawing Class With the Art Model Collective – an evening of fantasy-themed life drawing, designed specially for comic artists and illustrators, with swords, axes and other weapons being wielded by costumed models Manko and Viktoria Ash, posing in dynamic battle scenes, and hosted by Jason Atomic. Art materials and refreshments will also be available. 7pm.

Isabel Greenberg: Being a freelance illustrator – juggling many different hats, London Metropolitan University, Old Castle Street, 1.15 to 2pm

MVP Comic Book Design workshop (11 – 16 year olds) at The Paradox Community Centre, Chingford. 5 Day Workshop to learn how to make comic booksand edit them with the latest software.

Saturday, 13th April

Dan Slott signing at Forbidden Planet Megastore, 1-2pm Fantastic Four and Tony Stark Iron Man signed editions available.

WIP (Work In Progress Comics), Royal Festival Hall, South Bank, 11.30am-3.30pm

Tuesday 16th, April

Comic Book Creation Workshop for Parents and Kids – Fourth Edition, Blackfen Community Library,

Thursday, 18th April

Barbican Comics Forum, Barbican. 5.30pm-7pm. A fun and informal book group dedicated to the understanding and enjoyment of the multifaceted medium of comic books and graphic novels.

Tuesday, 23rd April

London Comic Book Club, The Sheaf, Southwark, 7-9pm

Wednesday, 24th April

Comica Social Club, Central Bar, Royal Festival Hall, 6pm

Thursday, 25th April

IAS Laughter: Comic Books and Laughter – History, Politics, and Aesthetics, UCL Institute of Advanced Studies, Gower Street, 6-8pm, Speakers: Nina Mickwitz Nicola Streeten and Roger Sabin. Chaired by Dominic Davies

Dalston Comic (creators) Club, Dalston CLR James Library, Dalston Lane, 6:30 – 7:30pm

Saturday, 27th April

Dave Gibbons signing Forbidden Planet Megastore 3-4pm. Signed DC Modern Classics: Watchmen available.

If you have an event that needs listing, contact richjohnston@bleedingcool.com

About Rich Johnston

Chief writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. Father of two. Comic book clairvoyant. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   globe