Posted in: ABC, CBS, Comedy Central, Fox, NBC, streaming, TV | Tagged: , , , , , ,

SNL, Stephen Colbert, Daily Show & More: Late-Night/WGA Strike Update

Here's a look at how the WGA/AMPTP strike is impacting late-night: SNL, Stephen Colbert, The Daily Show, John Oliver, Bill Maher & more.

Only 12 hours after the WGA/AMPTP strike kicked in, late-night is feeling the heaviest (and quickest) impact so far. Beginning today, viewers will see CBS' The Late Show with Stephen Colbert, ABC's Jimmy Kimmel Live!, NBC's The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, and NBC's Late Night with Seth Meyers will be shutting down production & going to reruns. HBO's Real Time with Bill Maher and Last Week Tonight with John Oliver are also shutting down (as is Comedy Central's The Daily Show, though no official word on if there will be reruns or different programming in place of new shows). As for NBC's Saturday Night Live, there hasn't been an official decision announced regarding this weekend's show – which was to see SNL alum & Peacock's Bupkis star Pete Davidson host. According to reporting from Deadline: Hollywood, SNL creator Lorne Michaels is reportedly weighing several options and may not make a decision on this weekend's show until later in the week. "We have to think about our crew too. I absolutely support the writers, and I want the writers to get what they deserve and need, but I don't want our crew to be out of work. We can't make this art without each other," a member of the SNL team shared.

SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE — Season 48 Cast Shot — Pictured: (top row l-r) Michael Longfellow, Sarah Sherman, Punkie Johnson, Mikey Day, Ego Nwodim, Heidi Gardner, Colin Jost, Molly Kearney, Andrew Dismukes, James Austin Johnson; (bottom row l-r) Marcello Hernandez, Michael Che, Bowen Yang, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Chloe Fineman, Devon Walker — (Photo by: Mary Ellen Matthews/NBC)

NBC's SNL Season 48 includes Michael Che, Mikey Day, Andrew Dismukes, Chloe Fineman, Heidi Gardner, Marcello Hernandez, James Austin Johnson, Punkie Johnson, Colin Jost, Molly Kearney, Michael Longfellow, Ego Nwodim, Sarah Sherman, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Devon Walker, and Bowen Yang. Executive produced by Michaels, SNL is directed by Liz Patrick, with alum Darrell Hammond announcing. Based out of Studio 8H in Rockefeller Center, the long-running late-night sketch comedy/music series is produced by SNL Studios in association with Universal Television and Broadway Video.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Stay up-to-date and support the site by following Bleeding Cool on Google News today!

Ray FlookAbout Ray Flook

Serving as Television Editor since 2018, Ray began five years earlier as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought onto the core BC team in 2017.
Comments will load 20 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.