Emancipation Day Beats DC Universe Rebirth In Inaugural Mike Wieringo Awards 2017 At Baltimore Comic-Con

The Ringo Awards were presented at Baltimore Comic-Con last night with Mouse Guard's David Petersen as the inaugural keynote presenter at the event.

Winners of the 2017 Mike Wieringo Comic Book Industry Awards are:

Fan Favorites:

Favorite Hero: Cash Wayne (Spectrum)
Favorite Villain: Arlo (unOrdinary)
Favorite New Series: Spectrum
Favorite New Talent: InstantMiso

Jury and Fan Winners:

Best Cover Artist: Frank Cho
Best Series: Vision, Marvel Comics
Best Letterer: Todd Klein
Best Colorist: Laura Martin
Best Humor Comic: I Hate Fairyland, Image Comics
Best Original Graphic Novel: March: Book III, Top Shelf Productions
Best Comic Strip or Panel: Bloom County, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick
Best Single Issue or Story: Emancipation Day,
Mike Wieringo Spirit Award: Future Quest #1, DC Comics
Best Anthology: Love is Love, DC Comics/IDW Publishing
Best Non-fiction Comic Work: March: Book Three, Top Shelf Productions
Best Presentation in Design: Mike Mignola's Screw-On Head and Other Curious Objects: Artist's Edition Hardcover, IDW Publishing
Best Webcomic: The Red Hook, Dean Haspiel
Best Inker: Sean Murphy
Best Writer: Tom King
Best Artist or Penciller: Fiona Staples
Best Cartoonist (Writer/Artist): Skottie Young

Hero Initiative Awards:
Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Joshua Dysart
Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Marv Wolfman

The big surprise might be Emancipation Day, a two-page story by Chad Lambert and Mark McMurray winning Best Story, against DC Universe Rebirth, Faith and Locke & Key.

  • Deadly Hands of Criminal, Image Comics
  • DC Universe Rebirth #1, DC Comics
  • Emancipation Daywww.redistrictedcomics.com
  • Faith #1, Valiant Entertainment
  • Locke & Key: Small World

Skottie Young and Tom King did well, recognised in multiple categories and Frank Cho has something to wave in front of the Wonder Woman office's faces.

It also appeared to establish the "Fan Favourites" as one susceptible to organised voting with Spectrum, spinoff of the Con Man TV show, co-written by Alan Tudyk and featuring the likeness of him and co-star Nathan Fillion and publishing one issue of the series, grabbed two such awards, after sustained voting from Firebronies or Browncoats…

Also presenting at the awards were Tom Brevoort, Darryl "DMC" McDaniels and Amy Chu, Walter and Louise Simonson, Terry and Robyn Moore, Kazu Kibuishi and Charlie Kochman, Lora Innes and Thom Zahler, and Todd Dezago, Craig Rousseau, and Mark Waid.

Emancipation Day Beats DC Universe Rebirth In Inaugural Mike Wieringo Awards 2017 At Baltimore Comic-Con

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Rich Johnston

Founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world, since 1992. Author of The Flying Friar, Holed Up, The Avengefuls, Doctor Who: Room With A Deja Vu, The Many Murders Of Miss Cranbourne, Chase Variant. Lives in South-West London, works from Blacks on Dean Street, shops at Piranha Comics. Father of two. Political cartoonist.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.