Sean Lewis and Caitlin Yarsky Reunite For "Bliss" From Image Comics

Sean Lewis and Caitlin Yarsky, who last worked together on Coyotes, have re-teamed for a new two-arc dark urban fantasy comic called Bliss, launching from Image Comics in June.

"I grew up seeing people getting addicted to things: drugs, success, sex… it always seemed to be about forgetting deeper pains," said Lewis. "I spent some of my life trying to forget my dad through these means, now that I'm a dad it made me wonder: how could that cycle break? And what happens to all these memories we push away? What if the Goddess Lethe was real? What if she is who we answered to?"

In this upcoming series, there's a drug called Bliss wiping away memories in Feral City. A good-hearted young man—overwhelmed by a deathly sick child and distraught wife—makes a deal to become the personal hitman to three gods, killing those in their way and sending memories down the river of Oblivion in exchange for his family's well-being.

Yarsky added: "As time passes and we become more burdened with memories of our past mistakes and misfortunes, we often turn to self destructive coping mechanisms. Anything to turn off the din of guilt and regret. But in the process of trying to drown it all out, we create monsters that eat away at us until there is nothing left. To me, Bliss is about what happens when we pull ourselves out of the wreckage. It's about finding redemption through self-actualization and love."

Image Comics describes Bliss as Breaking Bad meets American Gods, and recommends Bliss is the perfect new addiction for fans of Gaiman's Sandman and Dan Watters and Dani's Coffin Bound.

Bliss #1 will be available at comic book shops on Wednesday, June 24th. Here's a preview.

Auto Draft Auto Draft Auto Draft Auto Draft Auto Draft

About Rich Johnston

Founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world, since 1992. Author of The Flying Friar, Holed Up, The Avengefuls, Doctor Who: Room With A Deja Vu, The Many Murders Of Miss Cranbourne, Chase Variant. Lives in South-West London, works from Blacks on Dean Street, shops at Piranha Comics. Father of two. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   instagram   globe