Sleeping Beauties: IDW Will Publish Comic Adaptation of Stephen King and Owen King Novel

IDW Publishing will publish a comic book series based on Sleeping Beauties, the bestselling novel by Stephen King and his son, Owen King. Rio Youers and Alison Sampson will adapt the novel into a ten-issue series, with the Kings overseeing, according to a press release.

Said Owen King:

We are so excited about Rio and Alison's vision for Sleeping Beauties. We've been fans of Rio's for years and Alison's artwork is simply extraordinary. IDW couldn't have found a better pairing.

And Stephen King:

We're looking forward to seeing our work in this exciting format.

And Youers:

To work on anything with the King name attached is surreal, dizzying, and somewhat terrifying. As soon as my feet touch terra firma, I will focus on my goal: to stay true to the novel's spirit, and to deliver a page-turning, visually impacting experience that will appeal to readers of both Stephen and Owen King's fiction, and to comics fans the world over.

And Sampson:

I'm thrilled to be able to work on Sleeping Beauties. The story is very suggestive for interesting art, with magical themes interwoven through a very real place setting in Appalachia, and the opportunity to draw some truly diverse people. Places, spaces, gender, bodies, character, relationships, political themes, emotions, a challenging (and almost certainly innovative) design job, and a great story – it's all here. I cannot wait to share what we are making.

Look for Sleeping Beauties to launch sometime in early 2020.

Sleeping Beauties explores a world where women have sunken into a deep, cocooned slumber, their dreams taking them to an idyllic other place. They can only wake if disturbed, which results in violent, feral behavior. Meanwhile, the men have inherited the Earth, their society devolving into barbarism. Provocative and absorbing, Sleeping Beauties is a gripping dark fantasy of gender dynamics, individuality, and toxic masculinity.

Sleeping Beauties: IDW Will Publish Comic Adaptation of Stephen King and Owen King Novel

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Jude Terror

A prophecy once said that in the comic book industry's darkest days, a hero would come to lead the people through a plague of overpriced floppies, incentive variant covers, #1 issue reboots, and super-mega-crossover events. Sadly, that prophecy was wrong. Oh, Jude Terror was right. For ten years. About everything. But nobody listened. And so, Jude Terror has moved on to a more important mission: turning Bleeding Cool into a pro wrestling dirt sheet!
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.