Things To Do In London If You Like Comics – December 2019

Things to do in London in December 2019… if you like comics, of course. Exhibitions followed by events… let us know if we missed any.

Exhibitions:

Things To Do In London If You Like Comics – December 2019

Middlesex University's new Children's Book Illustration and Graphic novels MA is delighted to invite you to an exhibition of work by our latest graduating students. Alex Moore – Christos Kyriacou – Darja Rattik – Emma Pelling – Isabelle Cummins – Jessica Lin – Yukina Tokumoto, Orbital Comics, 8 Great Newport St, London, until December 11th.

Comic Creators: The Famous and the Forgotten. Special exhibition explores and celebrates the world of comics – from Aly Sloper and Dennis the Menace to Finnbar Saunders and Judge Dredd. Curated by Comics curator Steve Marchant and with the grateful assistance of the National Lottery Heritage Fund. Until December 31st, Cartoon Museum, Wells St.

The Cartoon Museum – Drawing Life. A new display showcasing the very best of the Cartoon Museums collection of cartoon art, curated by Cartoonist and Cartoon Museum Trustee Steve Bell. Until December 31st, Cartoon Museum, Wells St.

Events:

Sunday, December 1st

London Comic Mart, Royal National Hall, 38-51 Bedford Way, WC1H 0DG London, 11am to 6pm.

Monday, December 2nd

Writing Comics and Original Graphic Novels with Simon Jowett. We discuss the profession by conversing about special relationships with artists and editors, the best way to pitch your graphic novel, and the reality of how to get your work "out there" in the industry. Clean Prose, 2 Charlotte Road, £180.

Tuesday, December 3rd

#TDKTuesdays: The Beginning Of Nobrow.  We will be hearing from Nobrow about publishing, and also three of their illustrators will be joining us on the night to talk about their individual work! The theme of the evening is 'beginnings', so expect to hear a little about how Nobrow started, a little about how to get started as an illustrator and everything in between.  Charlotte Ager is a renowned illustrator who has worked with clients including the New York times, Culture Trip, Penguin Random House, Faber, and Harper Collins. Eleanor Hardiman is an illustrator and designer from Bristol, UK. With a distinct, modern and clean illustrative style Eleanor has worked on a vast variety of national and international projects, including a beautifully illustrated book published by Nobrow's Flying Eye Books. Sam Arthur, Nobrow's founder and managing director will be telling us about how the publishing house began and the journey it underwent to consistently deliver the very best in visual publishing, in whatever format, in whichever medium and to whichever point on the globe. Hopefully he might have a few tips and tricks on how to make it or break it in this industry. Hamish Steele is an Eisner-award-winning, London-based Animation Director, Comic-Book Artist and Writer. By day, he is a director signed with Blink Industries, who has developed animated shows with Netflix, the BBC, Nickelodeon and Cartoon Hangover. By night, he is a comic creator who has both self published and published through Nobrow. Tickets free, but limited space available so please RSVP here. Huckletree Shoreditch, 6:30 PM to 9:30 PM

London Book Club – Akira, The Sheaf, 24 Southwark Street, 7-9pm

Islington Comic Forum, North Library, Manor Gdns, 6.30pm

Shoe Lane Comic Forum, Shoe Lane Library, Little New Street. 5.30-7pm

Wednesday, December 4th

Wednesday Comics Club, A weekly interest group based around comics, gaming and films. Richmond & Kingston United Response, Rowan House, Ground Floor, Field Ln, Teddington TW11 9BP, 6pm.

Cartoon Museum Talk. From William Hogarth (1697-1764) and James Gillray (1756-1815) to Dennis the Menace, Rupert the Bear and Judge Dredd, the Cartoon Museum showcases social, political, satirical and joke cartoons from the 1700s to the present day. Following an introductory talk, a behind-the-scenes look at some of the extensive collection, and a 'spotlight tour' of the current temporary exhibition, there is chance to explore the museum's new premises at leisure. The main exhibition gallery, curated by The Guardian's cartoonist Steve Bell, tells the story of the history of cartoon and comic art, with examples from the museum's collection of 6,000 pieces. Includes tea or coffee and biscuits. 11.30pm

Cartoon Museum Talk. 2.30pm.

SketchnoteLDN No. 38 Comics & Storytelling + Figure Proportions & Actions 101, 6.30-8pm.

Thursday, December 5th

New Year's Evil Event, Join Ram V, Casper Wijngaard and Dan Watters signing copies of New Year's Evil #1, Forbidden Planet London Megastore, Shaftesbury Avenue, 6pm.

Troopers, Guests only.

Things To Do In London If You Like Comics - December 2019

Vanni: A Family's Struggle Through the Sri Lankan Conflict – a book discussion with speakers Benjamin Dix and Lindsay Pollock. Released 10 years after the end of the war, Vanni is a moving graphic novel that portrays the personal experiences of modern warfare, the processes of forced migration, and the struggles of seeking asylum in Europe. Inspired by Benjamin Dix's personal experience of working in Sri Lanka for the United Nations during the war, Vanni, named after the Tamil region of northern Sri Lanka, draws upon over four years of meticulous research – including first-hand interviews, references from official reports and cross-referencing with experts in the field. Elegantly drawn by Lindsay Pollock, and with a real sense of immediacy, Vanni takes readers through the otherwise unimaginable struggles, horrors and life-changing decisions families and individuals are forced to make when caught in the cross hairs. This event will feature a short talk about the graphic novel from authors Dr Benjamin Dix and Lindsay Pollock, followed by a Q&A All are welcome, and refreshments will be available.

Friday, December 6th

London launch for the publication of the new Gender Graphic Guide by Meg-John Barker and Jules Scheele published by Icon Books. Gay's The Word, 66 Marchmont Street, £3 including book, half price cover.

Sunday, December 8th

Things To Do In London If You Like Comics – December 2019

Catford Comic and Zine Fair, Blythe Hill Tavern, 319 Stanstead Rd , noon-5pm.

Visual Storytelling Studies – World building in visual storytelling, Blythe Hill Tavern, 319 Stanstead Rd , noon-2pm.

Monday, December 9th

Things To Do In London If You Like Comics – December 2019

PRIVATE VIEW: Middlesex University's new Children's Book Illustration and Graphic novels MA is delighted to invite you to and exhibition of work by our latest graduating students. Alex Moore – Christos Kyriacou – Darja Rattik – Emma Pelling – Isabelle Cummins – Jessica Lin – Yukina Tokumoto, Orbital Comics, 8 Great Newport St, London. 7:pm-8:30pm

Writing Comics and Original Graphic Novels with Simon Jowett. We discuss the profession by conversing about special relationships with artists and editors, the best way to pitch your graphic novel, and the reality of how to get your work "out there" in the industry. Clean Prose, 2 Charlotte Road, £180.

Brompton Library Graphic Novel Reading Group, Upstairs in the Brompton Library Learning Space, 210 Old Brompton Rd, London, 6.30-7.30pm.

Church Street Library Graphic Novel Club, Church Street Library, 67 Church St, Marylebone, 6.30-8pm.

Wednesday, December 11th

Things To Do In London If You Like Comics – December 2019

Evening of Creepy Comics,

Morbid Mark Stafford ( the Bad Bad Place), Chthonic Cathy Brett (Who Killed Jojo?), Necropolitan Douglas Noble (Jazz Creepers) and Diabolical Dan White ( Sticky Ribs), unrepentant cartoonists of the uncanny one and all, will gather to discuss the wide wide world of creepy comics, in their various forms, from EC to underground, manga to mainstream, all manner of nightmarish sequential art will be ruthlessly dissected and assessed in gruesome detail. In a slideshow. With some chat. There will be drinks! There will be comics! Some of the drinks will be mulled! Sketching and signing will occur! The Cartoon Museum has spoken! The Cartoon Museum 63 Wells Street, W1A3 AE London

Wednesday Comics Club, A weekly interest group based around comics, gaming and films. Richmond & Kingston United Response, Rowan House, Ground Floor, Field Ln, Teddington TW11 9BP, 6pm.

Thursday, December 12th

Laydeez Do Comics Winter Party, Come and join us for some festive comics-based activity and seasonal refreshments. Cartoon Museum, Wells St, £2-£5

Saturday, December 14th

35th Anniversary of the Who Shop, guests Ellie Wallwork (Hanne from 'It Takes You Away') and Jessica Martin (Mags from 'The Greatest Show In The Galaxy' and various Big Finish stories) and artist for Titan Comics; Doctor Who titles, The Who Shop, 39-41 Barking Road, Upton Park.

WIP (Work In Progress Comics), a short drawing exercise to get our creative juices flowing, followed by a roundtable show-and-tell where those who want to can share their work and give a progress update or seek any advice they're after. Royal Festival Hall, South Bank, 11.30am-3.30pm

Wednesday, December 18th

Wednesday Comics Club, A weekly interest group based around comics, gaming and films. Richmond & Kingston United Response, Rowan House, Ground Floor, Field Ln, Teddington TW11 9BP, 6pm.

Making Archaeological Comics with Matt Hitchcock, Nick Overton, Hannah Sackett, John Swogger, Katy Whitaker. This workshop is aimed at anyone interested in making comics relating to archaeology. The session will start with a series of 5-minute presentations by the workshop leaders, outlining their process of making comics. This will be followed by a short panel discussion. The practical element of the workshop will include a series of drawing games and a chance for participants to plan, thumbnail or draw a short comic. Participants are welcome to work on comics arising from their own research, or to use suggestions provided on the day. No drawing experience necessary. This event is free but you must have registered for TAG@UCL-IoA 2019 in order to attend. University College London.

Thursday December 19th

Barbican Comic Forum, An informal group dedicated to the understanding and enjoyment of the multifaceted medium of comic books and graphic novels. Make friends, converse, get recommendations and choose from a wide selection of books to borrow and take home. From novices to fanatics: open to all.  Barbican Library, Silk Street, London

Saturday, December 21st

Westminster Drawing Club, Upstairs of the Westminster Reference Library, 35 St Martin's St, 11.30am-1.30pm.

Monday, December 23rd

London Book Club – Christmas Get Together – Klaus by Grant Morrison and Dan Mora, The Sheaf, 24 Southwark Street, 7-9pm

Saturday, December 28th

Nomadic Youth, Zine Weekender,  Come along, grab a cuppa and make your very own zine! Bring a friend or make new ones whilst creating a unique zine about whatever you like! Make a load of small zines or join us on day one to make a really special zine over two days, run by zine-maker, Ishani, Blighty Tottenham – a Commonwealth of Nations Cafe, 266 High Road, London, N15 4AJ

Sunday, December 29th

Nomadic Youth, Zine Weekender,  Come along, grab a cuppa and make your very own zine! Bring a friend or make new ones whilst creating a unique zine about whatever you like! Make a load of small zines or join us on day one to make a really special zine over two days, run by zine-maker, Ishani, Blighty Tottenham – a Commonwealth of Nations Cafe, 266 High Road, London, N15 4AJ

Monday, December 30th

Dalston Comic (creators) Club, Dalston CLR James Library, Dalston Lane, 6:30 – 7:30pm

About Rich Johnston

Founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world, since 1992. Author of The Flying Friar, Holed Up, The Avengefuls, Doctor Who: Room With A Deja Vu, The Many Murders Of Miss Cranbourne, Chase Variant. Lives in South-West London, works from Blacks on Dean Street, shops at Piranha Comics. Father of two. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   instagram   globe