Things To Do In London… If You Like Comics – March 2020

Things to do in London in March 2020… if you like comics, of course. And live in, or can get to, that there London. Exhibitions followed by events… let us know if we missed any.

Things To Do In London… If You Like Comics – March 2020

Exhibitions:

The Cartoon Museum: Drawing Life. A new display showcasing the very best of the Cartoon Museums collection of cartoon art, curated by Cartoonist and Cartoon Museum Trustee Steve Bell. Cartoon Museum, Wells Street. Until August 30th 2020.

Dear Mr. Poole exhibition displays a never-before-seen collection of illustrated letters written to Poole from cartoonists around the world, such as Ralph Steadman, who Poole famously developed a friendship with over many years. This charming personal collection acts as a love letter to the often-overlooked tools of the trade as well as providing a unique snapshot of the international cartoonist community, from Serbia to Scotland, New York to Brazil, in the late 20th century. Cartoon Museum, Wells Street. Until June 28th

Hail to the Chief!? Brief Lives of America's Best and Worst Presidents. This exhibition accompanies the launch of the book 'Gimson's Presidents: Brief Lives from Washington to Trump' written by journalist Andrew Gimson and illustrated by cartoonist Martin Rowson. Presenting original artwork by Rowson and labels written by Gimson, the display features the duo's pick of the best and worst leaders of the United States from the past 231 years. Cartoon Museum, Wells Street. March 3rd to April 4th.

Events:

Tuesday, March 3rd

Islington Comic Forum, North Library, Manor Gdns, 6.30pm

Shoe Lane Comic Forum, An informal group dedicated to the understanding and enjoyment of the multifaceted medium of comic books and graphic novels. Make friends, converse, get recommendations and choose from a wide selection of books to borrow and take home. From novices to fanatics: open to all. Pub afterwards. Shoe Lane Library, Little New Street. 5.30-7pm

Thursday, March 5th

Troopers, Soho, Guests only.

Friday, March 6th

AMC at the Cartoon Museum. Following the success of the life drawing events at the Cartoon Museum, we are starting the new year with regular bi-weekly Friday evening life drawing sessions with Art Model Collective. These fun, expressive, dynamic, untutored sessions are aimed at providing a resource for cartoonists and illustrators. Professional models pose with playful props and evocative soundtrack, drawing inspiration from the Cartoon Museum's vast archive. Cartoon Museum, Wells Street Tickets: £15 in advance, £20 on the door. Entry includes admission to the museum and free art materials courtesy of GreatArt. Plenty of table space, drawing boards and a couple of easels available. Life drawing session starts at 7pm, but the ticket holders are very welcome to come from 6:30 and look around the museum to draw inspiration. 7-9:30pm

Saturday, March 7th

Can Muslim Comic Book Superheroes Change the World? at London School of Economics and Political Science. Ms Marvel is a Muslim Pakistani-American teenager. Will her superpowers help defeat common stereotypes about young Muslim women? Come join our panel discussion and find out! Manmit Bhambra is a postdoctoral researcher on the LSE Middle East Centre project "(Re)imagining Young Muslim Women? Comparing Public Responses to Ms Marvel in non-Muslim and Muslim Societies". Dima Issa (@Dima_tweets) is a Senior Lecturer of Mass Media and Communication, University of Balamand in Lebanon. Jennifer Jackson-Preece (@jackson_preece) is an Associate Professor in Nationalism at the European Institue, LSE. Dr Michael Mason (@LSEMiddleEast)  is Director of the Middle East Centre. He is also Associate Professor in the Department of Geography and Environment and Associate of the Grantham Research Institute for Climate Change and the Environment. LSE, Houghton Street, City of London, Westminster at 2:45 pm

Monday, March 9th

Brompton Library Graphic Novel Reading Group, Upstairs in the Brompton Library Learning Space, 210 Old Brompton Rd, London, 6.30-7.30pm.

Church Street Library Graphic Novel Club, Church Street Library, 67 Church St, Marylebone, 6.30-8pm.

Catana Comics at Waterstones. Waterstones Piccadilly are delighted to welcome Catana Chetwynd; author and illustrator of Catana Comics. Catana will be discussing her latest collection of doodles, Snug, with her fiancé, John. Snug is a new selection of comics from the author of the bestselling Little Moments of Love, Catana Chetwynd. Presenting a collection of comics that perfectly capture the honest, playful and relatable snapshots of romantic life, Snug celebrates the quirks and peculiarities of every one of us. Waterstones Piccadilly.

Comic Book Creator with Three. Create your own digital comic book with the Book Creator app, using exciting backgrounds, images and sound to bring your story to life.  We'll show you how to design your very comic, from the title page, to your characters, and even add a barcode and price for extra realism. Open to 6-11 year olds who live or go to school in Westminster. Free.

Tuesday, March 10th

London Comic Book Club, Jimmy Corrigan: The Smartest Kid on Earth by Chris Ware, The Sheaf, 24 Southwark Street, 7-9pm.

Wednesday, March 11th

Things To Do In London… If You Like Comics – March 2020

Reads, the monthly reading group at Gosh! Comics, John Layman and Afu Chan's new cosmic chiller, Outer Darkness from Image Comics. Gosh Comics, Berwick Street. 7pm -9pm.

Thursday March 12th

Things To Do In London… If You Like Comics – March 2020

Mark Millar signing Forbidden Planet Travis Charest exclusive cover to Space Bandits at Forbidden Planet Megastore, Shaftesbury Avenue, 3.30-4.30pm. Every copy comes with a Skottie Young vinyl sticker.

Things To Do In London… If You Like Comics – March 2020

 

Steven Appleby launch of Dragman from Jonathan Cape. Steven will be signing copies of Dragman at Gosh Comics, Berwick Street, from 7-9pm

Things To Do In London… If You Like Comics – March 2020

The Comic Creators Workshop is a bi-monthly meet up for anyone that creates Comics, Graphic Novels and Comic Strips. Whether you're an absolute beginner, looking to improve, or gain new skills, this is the place to be. Run by Comic Book Artist and Writer, Chris Geary, the sessions will include lessons on everything to do with comics, including Writing, Inking and Lettering. We will meet on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month from 7 to 9pm. It's £10 per session or £50 for 6 sessions and Chris will donate half of whatever he makes to the library! Age 16+ Belsize Community Library, Antrim Grove, Belsize Park,

Friday, March 13th

Things To Do In London… If You Like Comics – March 2020

Nordic Comics Today – A look at the thriving comics and graphic novel scene in the Nordic region. Comic artists from Finland and Denmark present their work. Kaisa Leka's illustrated talk, You could also look normal if you'd just wear pants, describes the life of a disabled woman in the world today, and how comic art responds to disability, and Karoline Stjernfelt tells us about her prize-winning graphic history, I Morgen Bliver Bedre (Tomorrow will be better), bringing 18th-century Danish court intrigue to life. Dr Nina Mickwitz gives an introductory talk on contemporary comics cultures in the Nordic region, as a milieu and creative sector. Personal stories often involve a broader social and political dimension and, as the feminist adage goes: 'the personal is political.' This idea resonates with the works by both Kaisa Leka and Karoline Stjernfelt, if in their own and very different ways. Her introduction also offers thoughts on the phenomenon of comics as a vehicle for expressing and negotiating identity, and for revisionist exploration of historical pasts. British Library.

Saturday, March 14th

Things To Do In London… If You Like Comics – March 2020

Heartstopper Vol 3 signing with Alice Osman. We are delighted to be spending an afternoon with the incredible Alice Oseman as she signs copies of her hit comic, Heartstopper, at Gosh Comics, Berwick Street. 1pm – 2pm.

WIP (Work In Progress Comics), kick things off around midday with a short drawing exercise to get our creative juices flowing, followed by a roundtable show-and-tell where those who want to can share their work and give a progress update or seek any advice they're after. Also, expect lots of general chat and gossip and comics talk. Royal Festival Hall, South Bank, 11.30am-3.30pm

Pen to Print: Comic Book Workshop with Wallis Eates, Join Wallis Eates at this fantastic workshop, whether it's learning new skills or to brush up on your talent, these workshops will give you the confidence to produce some great art work. Barking Learning Centre,2 Town Square, Barking

Monday, March 15th

Graphic Novel Workshop with Gareth Brookes, Gareth Brookes studied printmaking at the Royal College of Art. Known for an unusual approach to materials, which include, embroidery, linocut, monoprint, pressed flowers and pyrography, he has published two graphic novels with Myriad Editions. The first of these, The Black Project, won the Myriad First Graphic Novel Competition in 2012, was featured in the 'Comics Unmasked, Art and Anarchy in the UK' exhibition at the British Library, London and was nominated in the Sélection Officielle at the 2018 Festival de la Bande Dessinée in Angoulême. The Comic Shop, 42 High Street, Crawley, 4-7pm.

Tuesday, March 17th

Steven Appleby Evening Talk. Steven Appleby has a long career in cartooning and has dipped his toes in animation. Now his first Graphic Novel 'Dragman' is due to be published on 12th March. Steve knows Philip Poole's nibs well as he drew Dragman with them and has been using them for years. Steven will talk about his career, Nibs, and Dragman. Steven will be signing copies of Dragman. £15 (Ticket includes the chance to look round Dear Mr Poole Exhibition) 7- 8.30 (doors open at 6.30)

Thursday, March 19th

Things To Do In London… If You Like Comics – March 2020

The Problems With Problems Launch Party. We welcome author Rachel Rooney and illustrator Zehra Hicks to the shop for the launch of their new picture book, The Problem With Pictures, from Anderson Press at Gosh Comics, Berwick Street. 7-9pm.

Barbican Comic Forum, An informal group dedicated to the understanding and enjoyment of the multifaceted medium of comic books and graphic novels. Make friends, converse, get recommendations and choose from a wide selection of books to borrow and take home. From novices to fanatics: open to all. Question of the month: What would your comic key unlock? Barbican Library, Silk Street, London. 5.30-7pm.

Friday, March 20th

AMC at the Cartoon Museum. Following the success of the life drawing events at the Cartoon Museum, we are starting the new year with regular bi-weekly Friday evening life drawing sessions with Art Model Collective. These fun, expressive, dynamic, untutored sessions are aimed at providing a resource for cartoonists and illustrators. Professional models pose with playful props and evocative soundtrack, drawing inspiration from the Cartoon Museum's vast archive. Cartoon Museum, Wells Street Tickets: £15 in advance, £20 on the door. Entry includes admission to the museum and free art materials courtesy of GreatArt. Plenty of table space, drawing boards and a couple of easels available. Life drawing session starts at 7pm, but the ticket holders are very welcome to come from 6:30 and look around the museum to draw inspiration. 7-9:30pm

Saturday, March 21st

Transitions 9 – new directions in comics studies 2020, This event is focused towards postgraduate and early career speakers, and usually draws a diverse crowd of both new and more established researchers, as well as creators, aficionados and other interested parties. Our aim is to build connections between comics scholars working in diverse academic departments and contexts, to provide a platform for productive debate, and to create a space from which further collaborations can emerge. Keynote speakers: Prof Sylvia Kesper-Biermann (Universität Hamburg) and Dr Nick Sousanis (San Francisco State University) Respondent: Professor Roger Sabin (University of the Arts London). Birkbeck, University of London.

No Rubbers, No Mistakes – Kids Drop in session. Come draw with us! There is no such thing as a mistake in the session. Any mark that is put on your paper has to be used. How are you drawing with your eyes closed? What about using your wrong hand? Can you use a folk as a pen? We will play with lots of different ways of making a mark on a page. Let your creative side run free! Free with admission to museum – Cartoon Museum, Wells Street, noon-5pm.

Sunday, March 22nd

London Comic Mart, Royal National Hotel, Bedford Way, London, 9-6pm.

Monday, March 23rd

Dalston Comic (creators) Club, Dalston CLR James Library, Dalston Lane, 6:30 – 7:30pm

Wednesday, March 25th

Comica Social Club Monthly Meetup, The Man in the Tangerine Fez cordially invites you to the Comica Social Club. This remarkable, appealing yet strangely disreputable Comica Social Club is on the last Wednesday of every month—except December. The Comica Social Club is a monthly meet up in London for people interested in reading and/or making comics, manga and graphic novels. If you are new, and have never attended before, and know no-one else, look out for the Man in the Tangerine Fez and he will gently guide you to new comics friends. We all look forward to meeting you. Come and Have Some Comics Fun and Make New Friends! Look Out For The Man In The Tangerine Fez! Royal Festival Hall, Belvedere Rd, 6pm.

Thursday, March 26th

The Comic Creators Workshop is a bi-monthly meet up for anyone that creates Comics, Graphic Novels and Comic Strips. Whether you're an absolute beginner, looking to improve, or gain new skills, this is the place to be. Run by Comic Book Artist and Writer, Chris Geary, the sessions will include lessons on everything to do with comics, including Writing, Inking and Lettering. We will meet on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of every month from 7 to 9pm. It's £10 per session or £50 for 6 sessions and Chris will donate half of whatever he makes to the library! Age 16+ Belsize Community Library, Antrim Grove, Belsize Park.

Graham Humphreys In Conversation With Jason Atomic, Master of Horror posters Graham Humphreys will be in the museum to talk about his influences and just how he makes his iconic Posters. How did he paint the Evil Dead Poster? What is it like working with horror masters to bring the poster to life? What is his favourite? He will also be selling and signing his new book 'Hung, Drawn and Executed' Jason Atomic will be hosting the talk and will be asking all the questions he has always wanted to ask. £20 (Ticket includes the chance to look round the museum) Cartoon Museum, Wells Street, 7- 8.30 (doors open at 6.30)

Friday, March 27th

No Rubbers, No Mistakes. Adult Late night Drink and Draw. Come draw with us! There is no such thing as a mistake in the session. Ralph Steadman is known for flicking inking and using it in his drawing. We will take this to heart! Any mark that is put on your paper has to be used. How are you drawing with your eyes closed? What about using your wrong hand? Do you want to play with dip pens and ink? Can you use a fork as a pen? Let your creative side run free! £10. Cartoon Museum, Wells Street, 7 – 9pm (doors open at 6.30)

Saturday, March 28th

Pen to Print: Comic Book Workshop with Wallis Eates, Join Wallis Eates at this fantastic workshop, whether it's learning new skills or to brush up on your talent, these workshops will give you the confidence to produce some great art work. Barking Learning Centre, 2 Town Square, Barking.

LDComics Graphic Novel Review, On the first day of the LDComics Weekend Festival 2020 on Saturday 28 March, we are offering 60-minute one-to-one sessions to critically review your work with a leading cartoonist practitioner. Your work does not have to be finished to participate and you can use the sessions for professional advice or practical help too. The cost of the sessions are subsidised by funding received by LDComics from Arts Council England and the expertise of 11 reviewers will be available to you. The sessions will be allocated on a first come first served basis and there is no limit to the number of sessions you can book. The review sessions are open to all genders. Cost £50/per session. Cartoon Museum, Wells Street, London.

LDComics Festival & Awards 2020, Free Word, 60 Farringdon Rd, London, 10am-6pm.

Sunday, March 29th

LDComics Festival 2020, – The Laydeez Lounge will exhibit all the entries of our 2020 Graphic Novel Award in the form of zines. You can browse, or find somewhere comfy and read one from beginning to end with a cup of tea and a slice of cake. We are also delighted to welcome publishers Avery Hill, Myriad Editions, Liminal 11, Self Made Hero, Good Comics, and crowdfunding initiative Kickstarter, who you can meet and talk to at their tables. Each will also be giving 20 minute presentations with Q & A. The day will wrap with an invite-only VIP wine reception for the announcement of our prize winner. For more details please visit

LDComics Festival 2020, Free Word, 60 Farringdon Rd, London, 10am-6pm.

About Rich Johnston

Head writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world. Living in London, father of two. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   instagram   globe