What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

Geek Fuel only got their start in the subscription box business a few years ago, but they've been making some amazing boxes and are on par with many of the bigger names who are cranking them out on a monthly basis. We got an opportunity to start receiving these boxes for review, so to start us off, the company sent us the June box right away. Let's crack it open and see what they had to offer this month.

What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

The first item that caught my eye right out of the gate was this tall box from Marvel. Inside was 30" poster featuring the art of Dave Perillo, containing a collection of heroes, villains and other characters from The Amazing Spider-Man. This is your classic original recipe version with his rogue's gallery from the '60s through the mid-'80s, so no Carnage or Spider-Gwen. The stock on the poster (being held up by my friend Mark) is a little thicker than your average poster, and because I don't want to ruin it, this is definitely one that's going into a frame in my hallway. I adore the art here and Perillo's style just pops whenever you look at it. It came with an official certificate from Marvel, which is nice. This is definitely one of the highlights to the box!

What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

Next up would be the oddity from the box that I'm not entirely sure what to think of. Epic Enamels have made a series of Super Motor Kart pins, clearly designed to parody Mario Kart, but just falling outside that 20% difference thing to avoid copyright issues. They're kinda cute, but I'm a little confused as to who this is supposed to target. Mario Kart fans who like robots? I got one called The Small Fry, which is their version of Toad. The quality of the pin is excellent, I have no complaints about how it was made. But it does feel like this really weird knockoff that will be hard to explain to people who see it on a backpack or shirt.

What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017 What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

This box came with a video game—Deponia for Steam. This game actually came out five years ago from Daedalic Entertainment, we personally haven't reviewed it, but by all accounts, it seems like a really awesome game. I will actually use the code and download it to my account to play for a while because I can't pass up a free game.

What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

The next item was the second big highlight of the box—a Rocket Racoon plush! Specifically a Funko Mopeez that are made mostly of cloth with only a few beans inside of it so that it will sit upright. These are always made from awesome material and I couldn't have been happier to get it. There was also a chance of getting a Groot mopeez instead, but I'm absolutely fine with having Rocket and adding him to my ever growing shelf of Funko items.

What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

This next item had me wide-eyed and giddy for most of the day because the minute I saw the silver package with the words Blast From The Past on the front, I knew what it was. This is a recreation of the Gray's Sports Almanac that Marty McFly purchases in 2015 that leads to all the problems they experience in Back To The Future II. The book itself is a journal, so blank pages with lines and click at the bottom to indicate the page number, which was a nice touch. This was an amazing item if nothing more than to display on my shelf. The only thing that would have made it better would have been the futuristic receipt.

What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

Before we get to the last item, all the Geek Fuel boxes come with a small magazine with some cool features. This one has an examination of Dave Perillo's artwork, goes over the original art of Wonder Woman from the comics, reviews for a couple games, a chance to win a Space Invaders cabinet, and has a small selection of geeky items for sale that you can purchase through them or other websites who have added items to the box you're holding.

What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

The final item was the usual t-shirts that come with boxes, but this one was my personal favorite: A Space Invaders shirt. Light blue with a four-color print, an homage to the original cabinet art with a few additions along the way and some kanji underneath the title. It's insane to think the game is almost 40 years old, but now I get to show off my love for it in style. This shirt is made from a lighter material than other shirts would be, but of course, the makes it breath easier and is more form-fitting. There was a chance to get a version of this shirt in black according to the box, but there's no indication if mine is a rare version or if the black one is.

What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

This box was pretty awesome! Geek Fuel did a great job with their selection this month. The only item that I didn't really care for was the pin, but considering what else I got in the box, it was totally forgivable. I'm stoked to see what will be in store for me in July!

What's In The Box?!: Geek Fuel – June 2017

About Gavin Sheehan

Gavin is the current Games Editor for Bleeding Cool. He has been a lifelong geek who can chat with you about comics, television, video games, and even pro wrestling. He can also teach you how to play Star Trek chess, be your Mercy on Overwatch, recommend random cool music, and goes rogue in D&D. He also enjoys hundreds of other geeky things that can't be covered in a single paragraph. Follow @TheGavinSheehan on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Vero, for random pictures and musings.

twitter   facebook square   instagram   envelope