Cowboy Bebop Cast, Composer Yoko Kanno Release COVID-19 Charity Song

Yoko Kanno might be one of the greatest pop and soundtrack composers in the world. She's certainly one of the coolest. She will always be known and loved for the soundtrack of Cowboy Bebop. The anime series, which premiered back in 1988. Her music created the perfect mood for a pop-jazz show about down-on-their-luck bounty hunters in space who each have a past they want to escape. She was probably a major factor in the series' popularity to this day, with Netflix currently producing a live-action version starring John Cho.

A look at the recording of the Cowboy Bebop charity song, courtesy of Funimation.
A look at the recording of the Cowboy Bebop charity song, courtesy of Funimation.

Anime News Network reported that Kanno and her band gathered a bunch of voice actors and musicians to record a special version of Cowboy Bebop's ending song "The Real Folk Blues" for charity. The track is now on Bandcamp and YouTube with a pay-what-you-want donation option. All proceeds will go to the CDC Foundation and Doctors without Borders (MSF) in support of the fight against COVID-19.

"This song was originally the end credit theme for Cowboy Bebop, a generation-defining anime series," project organizer Mason Lieberman said. "This project grew out of the goal of creating something fun and beautiful with the huge number of available musicians who have been sidelined as COVID-19 shuts down our entire industry. As it snowballed and grew, I realized we needed to use this as a valuable opportunity to give back to others and support everyone else who has been impacted by this crisis. I am greatly honored to present this smorgasbord of musical talent; many of my personal heroes are present on this release, and it is a tremendous joy to see them all working so hard for the greater good in this exceptional time of need."

The music credits include:

  • The Seatbelts (The original band led by Yoko Kanno that featured on the OST of Cowboy Bebop)
  • Band Arrangement and Direction for The Seatbelts: Yoko Kanno
  • Trumpet: Koji Nishimura
  • Trumpet: Eric Miyashiro
  • Trombone: Yoichi Murata
  • Vocals: A-sha Mai Yamane
  • Percussion: MATARO
  • Upright Bass: Hitoshi Watanabe
  • Drums: Yasuo Sano
  • Electric Guitar: Tsuneo Imahori
  • And Special Guest Vocals: A-sha Mai Yamane
  • Mix / Additional Guitar: Masahiro Aoki
  • Synth/Additional Sound Design: Jason Walsh
  • Organ: Robbie Benson
  • Keys: Ed Goldfarb
  • Guitar: David McLean
  • Bass: Matthew Hines
  • Drums: Kevin Brown
  • Saxophone: Zac Zinger
  • Flute: Kevin Penkin
  • Lead Vox 1: Shihori Nakane
  • Lead Vox 2: Úyanga Bold
  • Lead Vox 3: Raj Ramayya
  • Rap 1: Mega Ran
  • Rap 2: Substantial
  • Rap 3: Zaid Tabani
  • Poem: B. Cooper
  • String Arranger: Lance Treviño
  • String Copyist/Orchestrator/String Mockup: Dallas Crane
  • Violins: Molly Rogers Greenbaum, David Morales Boroff, Felicia Rojas, Jeff Ball
  • Violas: Joe Chen, Molly Rogers Greenbaum, Isaac Schutz, Jeff Ball
  • Cellos: Andrew Dunn, David Tangney
  • Upright Bass: Travis Kindred
  • Spoken word: Beau Billingslea (Voice actor from Cowboy Bebop – Jet Black)
  • Ending Tag: Steve Blum (Voice actor from Cowboy Bebop – Spike Spiegel)

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Adi TantimedhAbout Adi Tantimedh

Adi Tantimedh is a filmmaker, screenwriter and novelist who just likes to writer. He wrote radio plays for the BBC Radio, “JLA: Age of Wonder” for DC Comics, “Blackshirt” for Moonstone Books, and “La Muse” for Big Head Press. Most recently, he wrote “Her Nightly Embrace”, “Her Beautiful Monster” and “Her Fugitive Heart”, a trilogy of novels featuring a British-Indian private eye published by Atria Books, a division Simon & Schuster.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.