Saturday Night Live Video Welcomes Keegan-Michael Key, Olivia Rodrigo

Now that the "Elon Musk storm" has blown over (check out our review here), NBC's Saturday Night Live gets back to a sense of normalcy this week with host Keegan-Michael Key (Key & Peele, Schmigadoon!) and musical guest Olivia Rodrigo. And by "normalcy" we also mean a return to the regular week-before public relations machine- starting with the following formal video introduction to the duo. On a side note, how great will it be to have someone like Key who can both make and save a sketch at the helm of Studio 8H? And we're vibing that Rodrigo will keep the impressive musical run going.

saturday night live
Image: Screencap

Now here's a look at Key and Rodrigo's intro video for this weekend's turn, and then the season closes out on May 22 with Anya Taylor-Joy (The Queen's Gambit) hosting and Lil Nas X as the musical guest (and who has already promised "Montero" and a new song):

Saturday Night Live's 46th season includes Beck Bennett, Aidy Bryant, Michael Che, Pete Davidson, Mikey Day, Chloe Fineman, Heidi Gardner, Colin Jost, Kate McKinnon, Alex Moffat, Kyle Mooney, Ego Nwodim, Chris Redd, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Melissa Villaseñor, and Bowen Yang. Che and Jost serve as head writers, with Bryan Tucker serving as senior writer. Lauren Holt (The Filth), Punkie Johnson (Space Force), and Andrew Dismukes (Comedy Central's Colossal ClusterFest, New York Comedy Festival) are feature players. Alec Baldwin returned as Donald Trump, with Maya Rudolph joining them as Kamala Harris, and Jim Carrey as Joe Biden for part of the season before cast member Moffat took over the role just before the holiday break.

saturday night live
Image: NBCU

Not including specials and digital series, Saturday Night Live has won over 70 Emmy Awards, the most for any show in television history. SNL also holds the title for the most nominated television show in Emmy history with over 275 nominations (once again, not including specials and digital series). The long-running sketch comedy and musical series is executive produced by Lorne Michaels, produced by Steve Higgins and Erik Kenward, and directed by Don Roy King. Ken Aymong serves as a supervising producer, with Lindsay Shookus, Erin Doyle, and Tom Broecker producing. The series is produced by SNL Studios in association with Universal Television and Broadway Video.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Ray Flook

Serving as Television Editor since 2018, Ray began five years earlier as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought onto the core BC team in 2017.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.