Things to do in New York And Connecticut This Week If You Like Comics

Monday, June 2nd

10257204_10152009179806016_4761947471379026379_n

Neil Gaiman will be signing the soon-to-be released paperback version of The Ocean at the End of the Lane at R.J. Julia Booksellers in Madison, Connecticut at 4PM. Purchasing your copy of the book at R.J. Julia is your "ticket" the signing line. You can reserve a "signing line" copy or a signed copy (non-attending) by visiting the R.J. Julia website also (though the website does say you have to make those purchases by June 2nd).

Monday, June 2nd

bfy-cover2

The eighty-seventh meeting of the NY Comics & Picture-story Symposium will be held on Monday, June 2, 2014 at 7:00 PM at Columbia University, Butler Library, Room 523. The event is free and open to the public.

Presentations will be by Scott Cunningham and Peter Kuper, moderated by Karen Green. Bad For You co-author Scott Cunningham will read the opening comic about America's comic book censorship and burnings during the late 1940s and 50s, as well as other excerpts from his book with Kevin C. Pyle.

systempromo-front72

Peter Kuper will present a survey of work from Franz Masereel to the present in "speechless" comics.  In conjunction with the release of an new edition of The System, he will be discussing his exploration of wordless storytelling including Spy vs Spy, Sticks and Stones and Eye of the Beholder. His website is: http://www.peterkuper.com

Wednesday, May 4th

10401932_710992785624824_4287187366620098055_nDixon Place presents: CAROUSEL, "Cartoon Slide Shows and other projected pictures" at 7:30 PM featuring "gag cartoons, educational filmstrips, autobio comics, live music, and much more" at 161A Chrystie Street (btwn Rivington & Delancey), NYC.

Presenters include:
Americans UK
Brian Dewan
Emily Flake
James Godwin
Sam Henderson
Peter Kuper
Connie Sun, and hosted by R. Sikoryak

Ticket prices are: $12 (advance), $15 (at the door), $10 (students/seniors)
or TDF

Advance tickets & info:
www.dixonplace.org
(212) 219-0736
More info:
www.carouselslideshow.com

Saturday, May 7th

10390032_10152149211022406_414118244713399230_nThe Grand Comics Festival 2014 will be held in Bird River Studios at 343 Grand Street in Brooklyn from 11AM to 7PM, and the event is free and open to the public.

They say: "Meet local Brooklyn illustrators and designers who are both established and emerging in the field. Browse a range of comic book styles and subjects – lots to see, lots to buy! Free Admission!". On their website, you can find listings of all the participating creators, including Nick Bertozzi, Gregory Benton, Sam Henderson, Dean Haspiel, R. Sikoryak, Josh Bayer, Joan Reilly and many more. 

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.

twitter   facebook square