michael lark


First Impressions: Lazarus Succeeds in Breadth and Depth (Lazarus #28 Review)

First Impressions: Lazarus Succeeds in Breadth and Depth (Lazarus #28 Review)

Some of Jonah’s new family is assigned to the front line, but Jonah himself, as well as his adopted father, are sent out onto a factory ship.[caption id="attachment_858991" align="aligncenter" width="600"] Lazarus #28 cover by Michael Lark[/caption]Lazarus, like Descender, is a dense comic in terms of lore Lazarus aims to set up a complex world where[...]

Image Plans Veritable Lazarus Extravaganza for April

Image Plans Veritable Lazarus Extravaganza for April

Greg Rucka, Neal Bailey, David Brothers, Robert Mackenzie, Gareth-Michael Skarka, Dave Walker, and Eric Trautmann provide story content, with art and photography handled by Michael Lark and Owen Freeman Packed with series-enriching maps, essays, and other informational tidbits, the Sourcebooks are essential for the discerning reader.LAZARUS: SOURCEBOOK COLLECTION, VOL 1 (Diamond code: FEB180583, ISBN: 978-1-5343-0515-1)[...]

Top DC Comics of 2017 #3: Batman Annual #2 by Tom King Lee Weeks and Michael Lark

Top DC Comics of 2017 #3: Batman Annual #2 by Tom King, Lee Weeks, and Michael Lark

I came around to the Tom King Batman train a lot later than most for reasons now well documented on Bleeding Cool, and Batman Annual #2 by King, Lee Weeks, and Michael Lark is a big part of the reason I ever came around to it all.Also, side note, yes I know the "Batman-Hater Holiday Special" posts were put up in reverse order[...]

The Batman-Hater Holiday Special Part 1: Batman Annual #2 Review

The Batman-Hater Holiday Special Part 1: Batman Annual #2 Review

I’d never really had an opportunity to rile up a comment section before, so I leapt a little too quickly at the chance.Thus, the Batman-Hater was borne of latent anger, a need to grandstand and make an impact, frustration with the saturation of Batman, and a need to lash out at the amorphous, massive community[...]

Batman Annual #2 Review: King et al. Continue to Make Batman an Emotional Rollercoaster

Batman Annual #2 Review: King et al. Continue to Make Batman an Emotional Rollercoaster

[rwp-review-recap id="0"]Batman Annual #2 from DC Comics by Tom King, Lee Weeks, Michael Lark, Elizabeth Breitweiser, June Chung and Deron Bennett continues the trajectory that King and his many wonderful collaborators have taken the Dark Knight on: an emotional exploration of the heart of the Batman and the importance of his relationships with the world[...]

Amazon To Develop 3 Sci-Fi Adaptations Including Greg Ruckas Lazarus

Amazon To Develop 3 Sci-Fi Adaptations, Including Greg Rucka's 'Lazarus'

Further emphasizing a recent shift towards a larger investment in series development, Amazon Studios announced development of three series adaptations of popular sci-fi works: Lazarus, based on the comic book by Greg Rucka (Marvel's Jessica Jones) and Michael Lark (Gotham Central); Snow Crash, based on Neal Stephenson’s cult novel; and Ringworld, based on Larry Niven’s '70s sci-fi[...]

DC Comics To Rush Out Gotham Central #1 In Time For The TV Show For A Dollar

DC Comics To Rush Out Gotham Central #1 In Time For The TV Show For A Dollar

With the new television series Gotham set to premiere on Fox on September 22nd, DC Entertainment have suddenly decided to publish a reprint of Gotham Central #1 as Gotham Central Special Edition for $1, by Ed Brubaker, Greg Rucka and Michael Lark, due to hit comic stores for September 17th.Smart retailers might consider using it as[...]

Tackling Gay Superheroes Straight In The Pride &#8211 Out Today On ComiXology

Tackling Gay Superheroes Straight In The Pride – Out Today On ComiXology

Gavin Mitchell's simplistic yet disciplined artwork is very much in the vein of Michael Lark or Paul Azaceta, telling the story smoothly with striking, distinctive character designs; while Kris Carter's vibrant colors pop the eyes and give the book a professional veneer This does fall apart a little in the two single page back-ups by[...]

Is Lazarus Part Of The Crime Syndicate Of America

Is Lazarus Part Of The Crime Syndicate Of America?

From Justice League Of America #4, a look at the latin motto used by the Secret Society Of Super Villains, there to prepare the way for the Crime Syndicate Of Evil. But who else might be using the coin? From the sold-out Lazarus #2 from Image, a wall emblem in a disc shape using the exact[...]

Lazarus #2 Sells Out Of 35000 Print Run

Lazarus #2 Sells Out Of 35,000 Print Run

It is worth pointing out that the creative team of Rucka and Michael Lark should receive a greater payday from this issue than from any of the DC comics they previously collaborated on.Put it this way Scott Snyder's The Wake #3 is out tomorrow But I can't see his next creator-owned/creator-participant comic coming out from[...]

Michael Lark On The Ennuii Of Comics And Moving To Creator-Owned Work

Michael Lark, On The Ennuii Of Comics And Moving To Creator-Owned Work

Most of the people in this room, I don’t even know who they are." - Michael Lark Adam Messenger writes;At Big Wow Comicsfest 2013, Adam Messinger sat down and interviewed Michael Lark Words were spoken from their mouths using their voice boxes If you could hear it, it would sound like the rest of this article[...]

Image Comics Announces Greg Rucka And Michael Larks Lazarus

Image Comics Announces Greg Rucka And Michael Lark's Lazarus

Greg Rucka has just announced at the Image Comics Panel at San Diego Comic Con, his new series with Michael Lark, Lazarus, describing it as "The Godfather meets Children Of Men Hard sci fi in dystopian future, the main character gets hurt a lot, gets up and keeps coming at you."  Greg Rucka has just[...]