'Creepshow': Shudder Horror Anthology Taps Tom Savini to Direct Joe Hill-Penned Ep

What kind of self-respecting horror anthology would Shudder's Creepshow be if it didn't find a way to somehow involve horror icon Tom Savini? Thankfully, the upcoming thriller-chiller won't have to worry about answering that question, with the man himself making the announcement personally at this past weekend's Monsterpalooza in Pasadena, California. The upcoming series from AMC Networks' premium streaming service is based on the 1982 film, written by King and directed by the legendary George A. Romero.

'Creepshow': Shudder Horror Anthology Taps Tom Savini to Direct Joe Hill-Penned Ep
Tom Savini moulds Corey Taylor's head for a new Slipknot mask

The fine folks at Fangoria were kind enough to post the video from his panel on their Facebook page, where Savini revealed he would direct the episode "By the Silver Water of Lake Champlain," from writer Joe Hill:


Posted by FANGORIA on Sunday, April 14, 2019

The news comes less than two weeks after it was announced Adrienne Barbeau (The Fog, Swamp Thing), Giancarlo Esposito (Breaking Bad), and Tobin Bell (Saw franchise) would headline the Stephen King-penned story "Gray Matter" for the horror anthology. Horror fans remember Barbeau from her turn as Billie in "The Crate," a segment from the original 1982 film. The actress also hosts the Shudder Original podcast, She Kills.


Adapted by Byron Willinger and Philip de Blasi (The Commuter) and directed by series showrunner Greg Nicotero (The Walking Dead), "Gray Matter" spotlights Doc and Chief, two old-timers in a small, dying town, brave a storm to check on Richie, an alcoholic single father, after encountering his terrified son at the local convenience store. First published in 1973, the story was part of King's best-selling 1978 collection, Night Shift.


Here's a look at the previously-announced seven segments – so far, 8 of the 12 segements have been confirmed, with additional segment and casting announcements coming soon:

● "By the Silver Water of Lake Champlain" by Joe Hill

● "House of the Head" by Josh Malerman

● "The Companion" by Joe Lansdale

● "The Man in the Suitcase" by Christopher Buehlman

● "All Hallows Eve" by Bruce Jones

● "Night of the Paw" by John Esposito

● "Bad Wolf Down" by Rob Schrab

Creepshow is produced by the Cartel with Monster Agency Productions, Taurus Entertainment, and Striker Entertainment: Stan Spry, Jeff Holland, and Eric Woodsare executive producers for the Cartel; Nicotero and Brian Witten are executive producers for Monster Agency Productions; Robert Dudelson, James Dudelson, and Jordan Kizwani are executive producers for Taurus Entertainment; Russell Binder is executive producer and Marc Mostman co-executive producer for Striker Entertainment.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Ray Flook

Serving as Television Editor since 2018, Ray began five years earlier as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought onto the core BC team in 2017.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.