Milt Gross, H.G. Peter, Antonio Prohias, Dori Seda Lead 2017 Eisner Hall Of Fame Class

eisnersThe Eisner judges have revealed four names that will be automatically inducted into the Eisners Hall of Fame this year: newspaper cartoonist Milt Gross, Wonder Woman artist H. G. Peter, Spy vs. Spy creator Antonio Prohias, and cartoonist Dori Seda. Normally, only two names are chosen by the judges to be automatically inducted, but in what is either a massive, Trumpian overreach of power or a celebration of Will Eisner's 100th birthday (we report, u decide), they've doubled the count this year.

Additionally, seventeen nominees have been revealed who will be voted on with the rest of the awards, with four of them making the final cut. The nominees this year are Peter Bagge, Howard Cruse, Steve Englehart, Justin Green, Roberta Gregory, Bill Griffith, Gilbert and Jaime Hernandez, Francoise Mouly, Jackie Ormes, George Pérez, P. Craig Russell, Posy Simmonds, Walt Simonson, Jim Starlin, Rumiko Takahashi, and Garry Trudeau. The list of other award nominees has not been revealed yet.

The Eisners will be held on July 21 at San Diego Comic-con. There's still time to lobby the judges to nominate Bleeding Cool for a journalism award, not that we're saying you should do that or anything.

About Jude Terror

A prophecy once said that in the comic book industry's darkest days, a hero would come to lead the people through a plague of overpriced floppies, incentive variant covers, #1 issue reboots, and super-mega-crossover events. Sadly, that prophecy was wrong. Oh, Jude Terror was right. For ten years. About everything. But nobody listened. And so, Jude Terror has moved on to a more important mission: turning Bleeding Cool into a pro wrestling dirt sheet!