Things To Do In New York This Week If You Like Comics

Tuesday, April 29th

dreamer-zoebeloff-small1-1

The eighty-fourth meeting of the NY Comics & Picture-story Symposium will be held on Tuesday, April 29, 2014 at 7:00 PM at Parsons The New School, 2 West 13th Street, in the Bark Room (off the lobby) in New York City. The event is free and open to the public.

The presentation will be by Zoe Beloff.  Beloff says: "I will talk about my thoughts on the concept "picture stories" in terms of drawing and film.  I will discuss how these two mediums of expression form a dialog in my work, showing examples from three recent projects. The first, Adventures of a Dreamer by Albert Grass is a comic book that belongs to the archive of the Coney Island Amateur Psychoanalytic Society. The second, "The Days of the Commune" is a project that encompassed drawing, life performance and cinema. Finally I will present fragments of my current work in progress, "The Glass House" a film that speculates on a scenario by Serge Eisenstein which he proposed to Paramount in 1930 and explores his ideas on the interaction of drawing, animation and live action cinema."

Wednesday, April 30th

10153898_10152453126441747_5168770254061286499_n

Carmine Street Comics at 34 Carmine Street in New York City will be hosting a signing for the graphic novel Pawn Shop. They say: "To celebrate the final day of Pawn Shop's weekly digital releases on Comixology the creators Joey Esposito & Sean Von Gorman will be signing Physical copies of the complete Graphic Critically acclaimed GN. To help reader through the feels, the creators will be providing Free Tissues with every copy". The signing will commence at 5PM. 

Wednesday, April 30th

1517499_10152091853243207_6153704098440409310_n

The Vertigo Quarterly Launch/JHU's 1st Birthday party will be held at JHU Comics at 32 East 32nd Street in New York City from 6-8PM this Wednesday.  They say: "What do you get when Amy Chu (Girls Night Out, The VIP Room), James Tynion IV (Batman: Eternal, Talon), Larry Hama (GI Joe, Wolverine), Robert Rodi (Thor: Deviants Saga, Loki), Tom Chu (Deadpool, Gambit) and Alitha Martinez (Batgirl, WWE Superstars) are all under the same roof, to celebrate the launches of both Vertigo Quarterly and Girls Night Out: The Way Love Goes? PURE INSANITY, MAYHEM AND ABSOLUTE FUN! Oh, and probably some cake, as it is also the first birthday of JHU Comic Books!".  Purchase of Vertigo Quarterly: CYAN #1 is required to participate in the signing/event.

Wednesday, April 30th

10255937_10101213523895182_6091524052988463957_n

The Butler Library of Columbia University will host a panel discussion entitled, "Lewd or Literary: When Do Graphic Novels Become Too Graphic" at 6PM. They say: "As part of the events surrounding the exhibition "Publisher as Provocateur: Samuel Roth in Context," curated by Karla Nielsen, Columbia University Libraries' Rare Book & Manuscript Library presents a talk with Robert Berry and Chad A. Rutkowski, of "Ulysses Seen," and Charles Brownstein of the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund. Artist Rob Berry and lawyer Chad Rutkowski, of Throwaway Horse, join CBLDF executive director Charles Brownstein for a lively discussion of censorship, comics, and the public good". The event will be held in room 523 of the Butler Library, located at 116th Street and Broadway in New York.

For further information on the exhibition and related events, please see:
http://library.columbia.edu/locations/rbml/exhibitions/current.html

Thursday, May 1st

1186193_259886367516426_2817829961703517933_n

The Art on A Gallery and Shop at 24 Avenue A in New York City will be hosting an opening reception for "The Art of Arlen Schumer" from 8-10PM which kicks off a series of lectures running on Thursday nights, featuring a costume party on May 22nd. They say: Join Wendigo Productions, LLC.'s Art on A Gallery in celebrating the opening of this 5-Week Exhibit & Artist Lecture Series! Meet the artist! Food and Spirits! Afterparty at Three of Cups Lounge.".

The Arlen Schumer Lecture Series at Art on A Gallery will include:

May 8: Life, Art and Comic Book Art
May 15: Batman, Bob Kane and Bill Finger
May 22: Double-Birthday Costume Party!!
May 29: Man And Superman
June 5: The Silver Age of Comic Book Art

Learn more about Arlen Schumer here:
http://www.arlenschumer.com/

 

*Stay tuned for Free Comic Book Day Events Listings for New Jersey, Philadelphia, and New York coming up on Bleeding Cool as a separate events report*

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.