Posted in: NBC, Preview, TV, YouTube | Tagged: , , , ,

SNL Editors, NBC Reach Tentative Agreement; April 1st Strike Averted

NBC and Saturday Night Live's post-production editors have reached a tentative agreement to avoid a strike hitting SNL's April 1st show.

So it looks like host Quinta Brunson (Abbott Elementary) and musical guest Lil Yachty won't have a strike to worry about as they head into the April 1st edition of NBC's Saturday Night Live. SNL's post-production editors have reportedly reached a tentative agreement with NBC to avert what would've been the first show-specific strike in nearly a half-century. If ratified, the three-year deal will see pay increases of up to 60% over the course of the contract (along with immediate pay increases). In addition, the deal is expected to offer workers healthcare benefits, ratification bonuses, guarantees of employer-paid meals, and transportation & hotel accommodations for employees working long shifts with short turnarounds.

SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE (Photo by: Will Heath/NBC)

"We are thrilled to have reached this tentative deal," said Cathy Repola, National Executive Director of Motion Picture Editors Guild (MPEG). "Thanks to the tremendous resolve of the crew, we reached a deal that represents real achievement in each of the areas our members identified as key, including dramatic improvements in wages. We'll defer detailed public discussion of the terms until after our negotiators have had a chance to meet with the full crew to review the deal and hold a ratification vote."

NBC's SNL Season 48 includes Michael Che, Mikey Day, Andrew Dismukes, Chloe Fineman, Heidi Gardner, Marcello Hernandez, James Austin Johnson, Punkie Johnson, Colin Jost, Molly Kearney, Michael Longfellow, Ego Nwodim, Sarah Sherman, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Devon Walker, and Bowen Yang. Executive produced by Michaels, SNL is directed by Liz Patrick, with alum Darrell Hammond announcing. Based out of Studio 8H in Rockefeller Center, the long-running late-night sketch comedy/music series is produced by SNL Studios in association with Universal Television and Broadway Video.

saturday night live
SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE — Season 48 Cast Shot — Pictured: (top row l-r) Michael Longfellow, Sarah Sherman, Punkie Johnson, Mikey Day, Ego Nwodim, Heidi Gardner, Colin Jost, Molly Kearney, Andrew Dismukes, James Austin Johnson; (bottom row l-r) Marcello Hernandez, Michael Che, Bowen Yang, Cecily Strong, Kenan Thompson, Chloe Fineman, Devon Walker — (Photo by: Mary Ellen Matthews/NBC)

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Stay up-to-date and support the site by following Bleeding Cool on Google News today!

Ray FlookAbout Ray Flook

Serving as Television Editor since 2018, Ray began five years earlier as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought onto the core BC team in 2017.
Comments will load 20 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.