Harvey Awards Return, Reduced from 22 to 6 Categories, Nominees Announced

The Harvey Awards 2018, to be announced at this year's New York Comic Con, revealed their 30th anniversary nominees and new categories.

After skipping 2017, there has been a radical reduction in categories, from 22 awards in 2016 that recognised individual contributions to comic books, to just six that award the comic books themselves.

The award categories are simply Book of the Year, Digital Book of the Year, Best Children or Young Adult Book, Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel, Best Manga, and Best European Book.

Named after Harvey Kurtzman, the awards will be presented during New York Comic Con at a gala event on Friday, October 5th at Shop Studios (528 W 39th St). Voting is now open to eligible industry professionals.

*   Book of the Year
*   BLACK HAMMER: SECRET ORIGINS by Jeff Lemire, Dean Ormston and Dave Stewart (Dark Horse)
*   BOUNDLESS by Jillian Tamaki (Drawn and Quarterly)
*   EVERYTHING IS FLAMMABLE by Gabrielle Bell (Uncivilized Books)
*   HOSTAGE by Guy Delisle (Drawn and Quarterly)
*   KINDRED by Octavia E. Butler, adapted by Damian Duffy and illustrated by John Jennings (Abrams ComicArts)
*   LIGHTER THAN MY SHADOW by Katie Green (Lion Forge)
*   MONSTRESS by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Image)
*   MY FAVORITE THING IS MONSTERS by Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)
*   ROUGHNECK by Jeff Lemire (Gallery 13)
*   SHADE THE CHANGING GIRL by Cecil Castellucci and Marley Zarcone (DC Comics)
*   SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
*   THE BEST WE COULD DO by Thi Bui (Abrams Books)
*   THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS WRONG by Mimi Pond (Drawn and Quarterly)
*   THE FLINSTONES by Mark Russell and Steve Pugh (DC Comics)
*   THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER by Jen Wang (First Second)

*   Digital Book of the Year
*   BANDETTE by Paul Tobin and Colleen Coover (Monkeybrain)
*   BARRIER by Brian K. Vaughn, Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente (Panel Syndicate)
*   CHECK, PLEASE!: #HOCKEY by Ngozi Ukazu (checkpleasecomic.com)
*   NOT DRUNK ENOUGH by Tess Stone (ndecomic.com)
*   THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY by Katie O'Neill (teadragonsociety.com)

*   Best Children or Young Adult Book
*   BRAVE by Svetlana Chmakova (JY)
*   REAL FRIENDS by Shannon Hale and LeUyeun Pham (First Second)
*   SPINNING by Tillie Walden (First Second)
*   THE PRINCE AND THE DRESSMAKER by Jen Wang (First Second)
*   THE TEA DRAGON SOCIETY, by Katie O'Neill (Oni Press)

*   Best Adaptation from a Comic Book/Graphic Novel
*   ATOMIC BLONDE (Focus Features) – Directed by David Leitch. Adapted from "The Coldest City" (Oni Press)
*   BLACK PANTHER (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Ryan Coogler. Adapted from "Black Panther" (Marvel Comics)
*   THE LEGO BATMAN MOVIE (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Chris McKay. Adapted from "Batman" (DC Comics)
*   LOGAN (20th Century Fox) – Directed by James Mangold. Adapted from "Wolverine" (Marvel Comics)
*   MY FRIEND DAHMER (FilmRise) – Directed by Marc Meyers. Adapted from "My Friend Dahmer" (Abrams ComicArts)
*   PREACHER (AMC) – Developed by Sam Catlin, Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg. Adapted from "Preacher" (DC/Vertigo)
*   RIVERDALE (The CW) – Developed by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa. Adapted from "Archie" (Archie Comics)
*   THE END OF THE F***ING WORLD (Netflix) – Written by Charlie Covell. Adapted from "The End of the F***ing World" (Fantagraphics)
*   THOR: RAGNAROK (Walt Disney Pictures) – Directed by Taika Waititi. Adapted from "Thor" (Marvel Comics)
*   WONDER WOMAN (Warner Bros.) – Directed by Patty Jenkins. Adapted from "Wonder Woman" (DC Comics)

*   Best Manga
*   MY BROTHER'S HUSBAND by Gengoroh Tagame Anne Ishii (Pantheon Graphic Library)
*   MY HERO ACADEMIA by Kohei Horikoshi (Viz Media)
*   TOKYO GHOUL by Sui Ishida (Viz Media)
*   YOUR NAME by Makoto Shinkai and Ranmaru Kotone (Yen Press)

*   Best European Book
*   AUDUBON: ON THE WINGS OF THE WORLD by Fabien Grolleau and Jerémie Royer (Nobrow)
*   FLIGHT OF THE RAVEN by Jean-Pierre Gibrat (IDW)
*   THE GHOST OF GAUDI by El Torres and Jesús Alonso Iglesias (Magnetic Press)
*   THE LADIES IN WAITING by Santiago García and Javier Olivares (Fantagraphics)

Select attendees who have been previously approved for a Pro Badge or Artist Alley Badge at a 2016, 2017, or 2018 ReedPOP comic convention (New York Comic Con, Emerald City Comic Con, C2E2) are automatically eligible to cast their ballot. Voting will conclude on September 3rd. Others wishing to apply can do so here.

The 2017/2018 Harvey Awards Steering Committee is chaired by Nellie Kurtzman along with John Lind and Chip Mosher.

Harvey Awards Return, Reduced from 22 to 6 Categories, Nominees Announced


Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Rich Johnston

Founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world, since 1992. Author of The Flying Friar, Holed Up, The Avengefuls, Doctor Who: Room With A Deja Vu, The Many Murders Of Miss Cranbourne, Chase Variant. Lives in South-West London, works from Blacks on Dean Street, shops at Piranha Comics. Father of two. Political cartoonist.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.