Marvel to Publish "Previously In Marvel Comics" Recap Guide

On July 8th. comic book retailers will be receiving bundles of a free title, Previously in Marvel Comics. This recap guide will provide readers with a bit of a catch-up/review, before new printed comics begin hitting stores on July 15th. Those titles published that day are currently the following (though of course there may be changes):

  • 2020 iWolverine #1
  • Amazing Spider-Man #44
  • Avengers #34
  • Captain Marvel #17
  • Empyre #1
  • Fantastic Four #21
  • Giant-Size X-Men: Magneto #1
  • Guardians Of The Galaxy #4
  • Immortal Hulk #35
  • Spider-Woman #2
  • Venom #26

What's the betting a lot of it focuses on Empyre? I have heard some concern from retailers that readers are returning to ongoing series not entirely sure why they left off. Marvel Comics generally have a recap page while DC Comics don't – it's the reason Dan DiDio tried to catch all his readers up on Metal Men the other week. But single recap pages only go so far, this offering from Marvel appears to be a little more in-depth and cross-title. Might they even look at similar parallel plotlines across Iron Man 2020, Empyre, Venom and more? because plenty of cosmic-level threats are on their way to Earth right now, any chance they might meet on the way? Have a bit of a party? Team-up? fight? Decide that Knull is basically halfway between Skrull and Kree, put aside their warlike desires and just blow everything off for the summer? Either way for many comic book stores looking to reconnect with their customers, this could do even more than a selection of bookmarks, trading cards and out-of-date Valentine's Day that you couldn't pick up at comic conventions this year. Anyway, so look out for Previously in Marvel Comics when you get the opportunity. Let Marvel Comics bring you up to speed – and maybe retailers can keep a few customers onside too.

Marvel to Publish
Marvel to Publish "Previously In Marvel Comics" Recap Guide.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Rich Johnston

Founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world, since 1992. Author of The Flying Friar, Holed Up, The Avengefuls, Doctor Who: Room With A Deja Vu, The Many Murders Of Miss Cranbourne, Chase Variant. Lives in South-West London, works from Blacks on Dean Street, shops at Piranha Comics. Father of two. Political cartoonist.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.