Things To Do In New York And Philadelphia This Week If You Like Comics

Monday, February 17th

1551656_10152232657119985_848284917_n

Locust Moon Comics will be hosting a stop on Gregory Benton's massive book signing tour for his award winning graphic novel B+F from 6pm to 9pm. Don't miss out on getting one of Benton's famous double-interior cover original sketch spreads in color (poor guy's hands must be falling off by now). B+F is a "fable" that "explores an otherworldly forest with a woman and a dog as they encounter its denizens, both benevolent and malicious. A wordless meditation on goodwill, hostility, and isolation". The event will be held at 34 South 40th Street in Philadelphia.

Tuesday, February 18th

stamaty-detail1

The NY Comics & Picture-story Symposium will be meeting at 7:00 PM at Parsons The New School, 2 West 13th Street, in the Bark Room (off the lobby) in New York. The event is free and open to the public.  The presentation will be by Mark Alan Stamaty on his life, his work and other metaphysical questions. Mark is the author-illustrator of ten books including  Who Needs Donuts? (1973, 2003), Alia's Mission (2005), Too Many Time Machines (1999), Small in the Saddle (1975), Minnie Maloney & Macaroni (1976), and Where's My Hippopotamus?(1977). From 1994 to 1996, Mark was also the political cartoonist for Time Magazine. Mark has created covers for The New Yorker, the New Republic, the Washington Post Magazine, the New York Times Magazine, and others. His cartoons and illustrations have appeared in many publications, including Slate Magazine, Esquire, New York Magazine, Harper's, Newsweek, Playboy, the Wall Street Journal, and the New York Times Magazine.

Wednesday, February 19th

1544529_10151992015759615_185016949_n

At 7PM at Word bookstore, located at 126 Franklin Street, Brooklyn, New York, you can meet Miami's best (and only) previously-haunted real estate agency, in Dan Goldman's newest graphic novel Red Light Properties. As Goldman says, there will be "Talk & Questions & Signing & Happy Feelings" surrounding the newly released graphic novel from IDW.

Wednesday, February 19th

1661687_10201623378853487_469416726_n

Forbidden Planet NYC, located at 832 Broadway, New York, will host a signing for both the debut of The White Suits from Dark Horse Comics, and the collected graphic novel Zero, from Image Comics. Frank Barbiere (Five Ghosts) and Toby Cypress (The Tourist) will be on hand to sign the 1st issue of their brand new Dark Horse series and Ales Kot (Secret Avengers) will also be here to sign the first volume of his hit Image Comics series. The event will run from 7 to 9PM. 

Thursday, February 20th

1898008_663957140309109_527531164_n

Dare2Draw will be hosting an evening with Special Mentoring Guest Artist Klaus Janson, hosted By Simon Fraser. They say: "Bring your sketchbooks for an evening of live drawing with Dynamic Action Models, Contests & Give-aways, Demonstrations, Q&A and mingling with other cartoonists". The evening will also feature their "Quick Draw" Contest and "The Re-Load" and will be held at the Society of Illustrators at 128 E 63rd Street in New York. The event will run from 6 to 9:30 PM  with a cover charge of $15 Online ($20 at the door).

Characters for The "Quick Draw" Contest will be revealed 24 hrs. before the D2D event on
Twitter: https://twitter.com/Dare2Draw

For more information, go to: www.dare2draw.org

Sunday, February 23rd

1622073_577612488991242_903382474_n

Escape Pod Comics at 302 Main Street, Huntington, Long Island, New York will be hosting February Cosplay Day in keeping with their Cosplay Sunday tradition. Lectures or demos haven't been announced yet, but they say "stay tuned". As usual, come in costume and get 2 free comics.

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.

twitter   facebook square