Stan Lee Nominated For 2016 Angoulême Festival President

stan leeThe list for the Angoulême Grand Prix has been published. Voted on by the Academy, the winner of the most prestigious ward in comic books is names the President of the next festival. This year it was won by Bill Watterson, after Alan Moore declined the honour.

Nevertheless, he is nominated again, as well as for the first time, Stan Lee!

  • Christophe Blain
    Christian Binet
    Charles Burns
    Daniel Clowes
    Nicolas de Crécy
    Pierre Christin
    Étienne Davodeau
    Emmanuel Guibert
    Alejandro Jodorowsky
    Stan Lee
    Milo Manara
    Taiyo Matsumoto
    Lorenzo Mattotti
    Alan Moore
    Katsuhiro Otomo
    Marjane Satrapi
    Joann Sfar
    Bill Sienkiewicz
    Jiro Taniguchi
    Richard Corben
    Jean Van Hamme
    Chris Ware
Favourites are Katsuhiro Otomo, after he was in the final shortlist last year, and Quino, who has a similar profile as Watterson (popular in Europe, beloved by readers of all ages) and the additional advantages of being well-known to most authors in the festival. He is rather frail and, like Watterson, may not be able to attend Angoulême itself…

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Stay up-to-date and support the site by following Bleeding Cool on Google News today!

Rich JohnstonAbout Rich Johnston

Founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world, since 1992. Author of The Flying Friar, Holed Up, The Avengefuls, Doctor Who: Room With A Deja Vu, The Many Murders Of Miss Cranbourne, Chase Variant. Lives in South-West London, works from Blacks on Dean Street, shops at Piranha Comics. Father of two. Political cartoonist.
Comments will load 20 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.