MCU Timeline Updated with Black Panther: Wakanda Forever, GOTG Special

With Ryan Coogler's Black Panther: Wakanda Forever and James Gunn's The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special now in play in the MCU, it's time to take a look at the updated viewing timeline. A couple of things to keep in mind with the rundown that follows. To kick things off, we're only listing the films & series that are core Marvel Studios projects only. We're not doing a deep dive into DVD extras and things like that (though consider that as part of our "work in progress"). Perhaps a little more controversial is that we're not including Netflix's Marvel series (Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Punisher, Luke Cage, Iron Fist, and The Defenders) because we're not sure their canon will end up being fully blended into the main MCU timeline (especially after hearing enough whispers that Charlie Cox's Matt Murdock/Daredevil will have a "soft reboot" with Daredevil: Born Again). Same with Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Marvel's Agent Carter, Marvel's Runaways, etc. Yes, we know that when you apply the "multiverse" tag, then it's "everyone in the pool." So we're going to throw this under "work in progress" for now, too.

Image: Marvel Studios

So keeping all of that in mind, here's a look at the updated rundown of the MCU timeline, with Black Panther: Wakanda Forever and The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special also added to the line-up based on previous confirmations. For example, Gunn previously mentioned that The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special falls between Thor: Love and Thunder and the third volume of the "GOTG" films. 

  • Captain America: The First Avenger
  • Captain Marvel
  • Iron Man
  • Iron Man 2
  • The Incredible Hulk
  • Thor
  • The Avengers
  • Iron Man 3
  • Thor: The Dark World
  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier
  • Guardians of the Galaxy
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2

  • I Am Groot (Season 1)
  • Avengers: Age of Ultron
  • Ant-Man
  • Captain America: Civil War
  • Black Widow (note: credits scenes should be screened after Avengers: Endgame)
  • Doctor Strange
  • Black Panther
  • Spider-Man: Homecoming
  • Thor: Ragnarok
  • Ant-Man and the Wasp (note: credits scenes should be screened after Avengers: Infinity War)
  • Avengers: Infinity War
  • Avengers: Endgame

  • Loki (Season 1; allow for alternate timelines in-play)
  • What If…? (Season 1)
  • WandaVision
  • The Falcon and the Winter Soldier
  • Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings
  • Eternals
  • Spider-Man: Far From Home
  • Spider-Man: No Way Home
  • Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness
  • Hawkeye

  • Moon Knight
  • She-Hulk: Attorney at Law
  • Ms. Marvel
  • Thor: Love and Thunder
  • Werewolf by Night
  • Black Panther: Wakanda Forever
  • The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Ray FlookAbout Ray Flook

Serving as Television Editor since 2018, Ray began five years earlier as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought onto the core BC team in 2017.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.