Hermann Declines Angoulême Grand Prix – Is It A Lock For Otomo? (UPDATE)

Yesterday, it was announced that the three finalists for the Angoulême Grand Prix award, which celebrates a comic book creator's lifetime contributing to the form, were Alan Moore, Katsuhiro Otomo and Hermann.

Moore had previously declined the nomination. And yesterday, Hermann also declined the nomination.


If Moore continues to reject this year's call, then it looks like it will be a lock for Otomo, the first Japanese comic creator to receive the honour.

And, unlike this year's winner Bill Watterson, Otomo does travel, tarvels abroad and has been to France. So can we expect Otomo as President of Angoulême in 2016?

UPDATE: Hermann has had a change of heart it seems….


About Rich Johnston

Founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world, since 1992. Author of The Flying Friar, Holed Up, The Avengefuls, Doctor Who: Room With A Deja Vu, The Many Murders Of Miss Cranbourne, Chase Variant. Lives in South-West London, works from Blacks on Dean Street, shops at Piranha Comics. Father of two. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   instagram   globe