Things To Do In New York This Week If You Like Comics(UPDATE)

Monday, November 3rd

10336712_10101501431176682_7387295616056028868_nPolitics and Comics, a special panel discussion including Peter Kuper, Jeff Danziger, and Liza Donnelly will be held at the Butler Library of Columbia University, room 532, from 6 to 8PM. They say: "From Thomas Nast to Garry Trudeau, comics have a long tradition of political content and political inclinations. Join Peter Kuper, Jeff Danziger, and Liza Donnelly as they discuss the role of politics in their own comics work. What better way to spend the eve of Election Day? The event is free and open to the public and located at the Butler Library, room 523 by Columbia University Libraries, on Broadway at 116th Street in New York".

Tuesday, November 4th

d4e054f141d624839a74df76019b6fce678e1b42

The School of Visual Arts presents the "We Tell Stories" exhibit at the SVA Chelsea Gallery at 601 West 26th Street in New York, with an opening reception on the 4th from 6-8PM. The exhibit will run from November 4th through December 17th. They say: "School of Visual Arts presents "We Tell Stories," an exhibition of work by more than 350 artists who graduated with an MFA in Illustration as Visual Essay in the 30 years since the degree was first offered. Curated by founding chair Marshall Arisman, "We Tell Stories" surveys the vitality and versatility of contemporary figurative artists through thousands of works: editorial art, children's books, comics, graphic novels, animations, products, paintings and more.

We Tell Stories" will include work by notable alumni including George Boorujy, Viktor Deak, Brian Pinkney, Brian Floca, Nathan Fox, John Hendrix, Olivier Kugler, Allison Moritsugu, J. Stephen Savage, Yuko Shimizu, Sara Varon, Sam Weber and Martin Wittfooth. A highlight of the exhibition will be a children's reading room—furnished and designed by alumni Sara Varon and Aya Kakeda—with more than 200 illustrated books by MFA Illustration alumni".

Wednesday, November 5th

schrauwen-image1

A special meeting of the NY Comics & Picture-story Symposium will be held on Wednesday, November 5, 2014 at 7 pm at Parsons The New School, 2 West 13th Street, in the Bark Room (off the lobby). The event is free and open to the public. The presentation will be by Olivier Schrauwen on his work. Olivier Schrauwen will discuss the books he's made since his debut collection, My Boy, focusing on his latest book Arsène Schrauwen. This book is presented as an autobiography of his grandfather, but is, in fact, a concoction of personal anecdotes, fantasy and nonsense. Schrauwen will discuss its origins, his influences and some of the thought processes that went into the the making of this book.

Thursday, November 6th

dmc_fb

Midtown Comics Downtown will host Darryl McDaniels signing DMC Vol. 1 at 6:30PM. They say: "Meet legendary Hip Hop artist Darryl "DMC" McDaniels at Midtown Comics Downtown on Thursday, November 6th for a signing of DMC Vol 1, the first collection from Darryl Makes Comics. Purchase of DMC Vol. 1 is required to participate int the event".

Friday, November 7th

10710880_10152447701488873_7223097317757182520_n

The New York Launch Party for Matt Huyhn's new book Magpie, Magpie will be held at B_Space NYC on 219 Mulberry Street in New York from 6-8:30PM. They say: "Come join us for drinks and great music to celebrate the launch of Australian artist Matt Huynh's gothic sumi-e comic book 'Magpie, Magpie' including exhibition of original art".

Friday, November 7th

10670044_10202977074368201_2650766740694056048_n

The Graphic Canon of Children's Literature Launch Party will be held at the Society of Illustrators at 128 East 63rd Street in New York from 6:30 to 8:30PM. They say: "Come out and celebrate the official book launch of The Graphic Canon of Children's Literature by master anthologist Russ Kick. The launch party will be held in conjunction with the second annual "Push and Kick Awards" at the Society of Illustrators. Seven Stories Press would like to recognize the enthusiasm and support of three important figures in the comics art community, R. Sikoryak, Hillary Chute, and Lynda Barry. The reception is being co-sponsored by The Society of Illustrators and Publishers Weekly. The awards ceremony also coincides with the opening of an accompanying exhibition at the Society of Illustrators, of original artwork by contributors to The Graphic Canon of Children's Literature.The exhibition will run November 4–December 20".

Saturday, November 8th, and Sunday, November 9th

title

Comic Arts Brooklyn (CAB) will be held on both days from 11AM to 7PM at Mount Carmel Church at 275 N 8th Street in Brooklyn.  The event is free and open to the public. CAB will also be running events on Thursday, Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, which you can view here. Programming panels will also be running on Sunday, November 9th at the Wythe Hotel in Williamsburg, Brooklyn, and you can view those details here.

Those featured at CAB include: Josh Bayer, Charles Burns, Roz Chast, Michael DeForge, Julie Doucet, Aisha Franz, Lisa Hanawalt, Al Jaffee, Chip Kidd, Tim Lane, Benjamin Marra, Richard McGuire, Raymond Pettibon, James Romberger, Jim Rugg, Olivier Schrauwen, Dash Shaw, Art Spiegelman, Adrian Tomine, Marguerite Van Cook, and over 100 exhibitors, including publishers. 

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.