The Boys: Aimee Carrero & Shane Paul McGhie Depart Spinoff Series

Remember back in September 2021 when the college-based spinoff from Amazon and showrunner Eric Kripke's The Boys was given a series green light? With Jaz Sinclair, Lizze Broadway, Shane Paul McGhie, Aimee Carrero, Reina Hardesty, and Maddie Phillips set to star, a big change was also announced with Michele Fazekas and Tara Butters taking over as showrunners from The Boys EP Craig Rosenberg, who reportedly exited the series amicably over creative differences. Well, those changes may have had a ripple effect with Deadline Hollywood reporting exclusively that Carrero and McGhie have departed the project (with Carrero joining Prime Video's The Consultant as well as Paramount+'s limited series The Offer). Reports are that the show's long development history with the actors attached for well over a year as well as major creative shifts from Fazekas & Tara Butters putting "their own stamp on the show" were major reasons for Carrero and McGhie's departures. For example, sources say that McGhie's character has "undergone a significant creative evolution."Set at America's only college exclusively for young adult superheroes (and run by Vought International), the irreverent, R-rated show explores the lives of hormonal, competitive Supes as they put their physical, sexual, and moral boundaries to the test, competing for the best contracts in the best cities.

the boys
Image: Amazon Prime

"Much like 'Mork & Mindy' spun-off from 'Happy Days'—which is an insane and true fact—our spinoff will exist in the Vought Cinematic Universe, yet have a tone and style all its own," Kripke said in a statement. "It's our take on a college show, with an ensemble of fascinating, complicated, and sometimes deadly Young Supes. Michele and Tara are stone-cold geniuses, we're thrilled to have them steer this ship and grateful to Sony and Amazon for the opportunity. We love this show and can't wait for you to see it. Also, 'Baywatch Nights' spun-off from 'Baywatch,' and it had vampires. Vampires!"

Sony Pictures Television and Amazon Studios are set to produce, with Fazekas and Butters serving as showrunners and executive producers. The Boys creator Kripke will executive produce via Kripke Enterprises along with The Boys executive producers Seth Rogen, Evan Goldberg, and James Weaver of Point Grey Pictures, Original Film's Neal H. Moritz and Pavun Shetty, Ken Levin, Jason Netter, Garth Ennis, Darick Robertson, and Michaela Starr. Erica Rosbe and Zak Schwartz are co-executive producers. Loreli Alanís will serve as executive in charge on behalf of Point Grey Pictures.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Ray Flook

Serving as Television Editor since 2018, Ray began five years earlier as a contributing writer/photographer before being brought onto the core BC team in 2017.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.