The Harvey Awards Quits Baltimore Comic Con

unnamed-14For the last eleven years, the Harvey Awards have been held at Baltimore Comic Con. Formed in 1988 from the split between the Kirby Awards, which formed the Eisner Awards which retailers can vote on, and the Harvey Awards which only comic creators and publishers can vote on, the Harveys have been held at Baltimore Comic Con since 2005.

But not in 2017.

The reasons given are not yet clear, but the Harveys are off.

NYCC 2017 anyone? Just a thought.

In a statement from Baltimore Comic Con, they say

The Baltimore Comic-Con is proud to have served as the host the Harvey Awards. During our eleven years as the longest-running host and primary sponsor, the awards grew in participation and stature, and were broadened to include appreciation of material such as Best Online Comics Work and Best Original Graphic Publication For Younger Readers.

We're thankful to the Harvey Awards Committee, headed by Paul McSpadden, for bringing the awards to Baltimore, and the guidance and assistance of Denis Kitchen and Nellie Kurtzman for recognizing that the Baltimore Comic-Con was the right home for the awards. We'd also like to thank the award's hosts over the years, including Kyle Baker, Scott Kurtz, Phil Lamar, Vivek J. Tiwary, Michael Uslan, and Bill Willingham, as well as the many keynote speakers including Sergio Aragones, Brian Michael Bendis, Dean Haspiel, Ross Richie, Jerry Robinson, and Gail Simone, and Mark Waid. We must also thank the countless sponsors, volunteers, presenters, nominees, winners, and voting members of the comics community.
We are proud to have presented to Harvey Awards ceremony attendees such memorable moments as Stan Lee and John Romita Sr. sharing the stage together, the tribute to Nick Cardy, and the various hilarious videos (including ones with the real Stan Lee and the fake one!) that became recurring features of the event. We wish the event continued luck in the future in their new venue, which we expect to be announced by the Harvey Awards Committee in the coming days.

The Baltimore Comic-Con is a celebration of comic books and cartooning and as such, we owe a great debt to Harvey Kurtzman. Hosting the Harvey Awards was, to us, an expression of our love for Harvey's work and a celebration of the creators who follow in his footsteps.

In the coming months, look for more announcements from the Baltimore Comic-Con. We are looking forward to highlighting our guests, industry exclusives, and programming. The latest developments can always be found on our website, Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook pages.

Just a little Harveyless…

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Rich JohnstonAbout Rich Johnston

Founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world, since 1992. Author of The Flying Friar, Holed Up, The Avengefuls, Doctor Who: Room With A Deja Vu, The Many Murders Of Miss Cranbourne, Chase Variant. Lives in South-West London, works from Blacks on Dean Street, shops at Piranha Comics. Father of two. Political cartoonist.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.