Doctor Who: BBC Books to Publish Original Series Dalek Eps 'Resurrection', 'Revelation'

Before there were DVDs and Blu-rays, the only way BBC Doctor Who fans could revisit their favourite stories was to read the novelisations released by Target Books. Fans still look upon those books with fondness, with many saying they inspired them as kids to become professional writers – including showrunners Russell T. Davies and Steven Moffat.

You might be surprised to hear that there were only two stories left from the show's original run that haven't gotten a novel adaptation – until now. That situation will be remedied this year when BBC Books publishes former script editor Eric Saward's novelization of those stories: Resurrection of the Daleks…

and Revelation of the Daleks:

Eric Saward was the script editor of the show from 1982 to 1986, covering a large part of Peter Davison's era as the Doctor and Colin Baker's entire run. He also wrote both Resurrection of the Daleks and Revelation of the Daleks. The former was The 5th Doctor's first encounter with the Daleks and also marked the final story that companion Tegan Jovanka appeared in before actress Janet Fielding left the show. The latter features The 6th Doctor attending a funeral on an alien planet, only to stumble upon a Dalek plot in a satire of the funeral business inspired by Evelyn Waugh's novel The Loved One. Many fans regard Revelation of the Daleks to be the best script Saward wrote during his tenure on the show.

Resurrection of the Daleks will be published in audiobook form on July 4th, and in hardcover on July 18th. Revelation of the Daleks will be published in hardcover later this year, on November 19th:

Doctor Who: BBC Books to Publish Original Series Dalek Eps 'Resurrection', 'Revelation'
BBC Books

Resurrection of the Daleks – Eric Saward

The universe is at war. Action takes courage.

The TARDIS is ensnared in a time corridor, catapulting it into derelict docklands on 20th century Earth. The Doctor and his companions, Tegan and Turlough, stumble on a warehouse harbouring fugitives from the future at the far end of the corridor – and are soon under attack from a Dalek assault force.

The Doctor's oldest enemies have set in motion an intricate and sinister plot to resurrect their race from the ashes of an interstellar war. For the Daleks' plans to succeed, they must set free their creator, Davros, from a galactic prison – and force the Doctor to help them achieve total control over time and space. But the embittered Davros has ideas of his own…

doctorwho daleks bbc books
BBC Books

Revelation of the Daleks – Eric Saward

Beware the hands that heal.

The Doctor and Peri land on the planet Necros to visit the funerary home Tranquil Repose – where the dead are interred and the near-dead placed in suspended animation until such time as their conditions can be cured.

But the Great Healer of Tranquil Repose is far from benign. Under his command, Daleks guard the catacombs where sickening experiments are conducted on human bodies. The new life he offers the dying comes at a terrible cost – and the Doctor and Peri are being lured into a trap that will change them forever.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Adi Tantimedh

Adi Tantimedh is a filmmaker, screenwriter and novelist who just likes to writer. He wrote radio plays for the BBC Radio, “JLA: Age of Wonder” for DC Comics, “Blackshirt” for Moonstone Books, and “La Muse” for Big Head Press. Most recently, he wrote “Her Nightly Embrace”, “Her Beautiful Monster” and “Her Fugitive Heart”, a trilogy of novels featuring a British-Indian private eye published by Atria Books, a division Simon & Schuster.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.