CBS Football Ratings Rise Amid Kneeling Controversy

All the #TakeTheKnee controversy over the weekend was good for at least one network. While reports that the Sunday Night Football broadcast on NBC was down 8% from the previous week, it wasn't bad new for CBS. The network released their ratings for the day of coverage starting off with their pre-game show The NFL Today, and they were up across the board.

CBS

The NFL Today scored it's best ratings/share since 2010. The broadcast earned an overnight HH rating/share of 3.2/8, that's up 33% from last year's 2.4/6.

Then the early games, which were regional coverage at 10 a.m. PST / 1 p.m. EST earned overnight metered market HH rating/share of 10.0/22, up 11% from last year's Week 3.

And the afternoon game, the National game coverage at 1:25 p.m. PST / 4:25 p.m. EST was the highest-rated NFL game on any network in Week 3 with an average overnight metered market household rating/share of 13.8/27.

Overall CBS game coverage was up 4% from last year's Week 3 coverage, averaging a rating/share of 11.9/25 vs. 11.4/23 in 2016 in the metered markets.

Why was the day games up but the night game down? Could be a few reasons such as folks were tired of the politic bent by the evening, The Raiders vs Redskins game this week wasn't as popular as the Falcons vs Packers last week. Or it could be the debut of the new Star Trek: Discovery on CBS last night — and if the last one was the case, then CBS has a lot to be happy about.

Source: CBS Sports

 

About Dan Wickline

Has quietly been working at Bleeding Cool for over three years. He has written comics for Image, Top Cow, Shadowline, Avatar, IDW, Dynamite, Moonstone, Humanoids and Zenescope. He is the author of the Lucius Fogg series of novels and a published photographer.

globe