Eve #1 Review: Brilliant Foreshadowing

With engrossingly strong visuals and a pitch-perfect plot, this debut science fiction title balances brilliant foreshadowing with deft characterization to deliver on every level. Eve #1 creates very strong emotional bonds and tension, and the reader gets everything they need to enjoy this engaging work.

Eve #1 Review: Brilliant Foreshadowing
Eve #1 Cover. Credit: BOOM Studios

Eve, as far as she knows, grew up with her father on an island, learning science and useful things while he worked as a researcher of some sort. When she wakes up, emerging from a suspended animation pod, and discovers that her memories were all implanted to help her get through what's next.

Victor LaValle's script here has enormous patience as it fleshes out the exposition for the protagonist and for the reader. The visuals from Jo Mi-Gyeong, Brittany Peer, and Andworld Design likewise present the claustrophobic futurescape with brisk color and excellent detail. Everything here worked well, especially framed by a wonderful narrative callback that's inspiring.

All around, this is strong, near-future work with its head aimed firmly at the sky. RATING: BUY. 

Eve #1
By Victor LaValle, Jo Mi-Gyeong
For fans of Undiscovered Country and Little Bird comes a new adventure series from award-winning author Victor LaValle (Victor LaValle's Destroyer) and rising-star artist Jo Mi-Gyeong (Jim Henson's The Dark Crystal) about a dangerous journey across a future dystopian America to save the world. When the ice caps melted, most of humanity was lost to the hidden disease that was released. Now, a mysterious girl named Eve has awoken in secret and must deal with a world that's nothing like the virtual reality she was raised in. In order to save her real father, Eve must embark on a deadly quest across the country, but she has no idea of the threats that await her – or the price she will pay to restore life to a dying planet …

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Hannibal Tabu

Hannibal Tabu is a writer, journalist, DJ, poet and designer living in south Los Angeles with his wife and children. He's a winner of the 2012 Top Cow Talent Hunt, winner of the 2018-2019 Cultural Trailblazer award from the City of Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs, his weekly comic book review column THE BUY PILE can be found on iHeartRadio's Nerd-O-Rama podcast, his reviews can be found on BleedingCool.com, and more information can be found at his website, www.hannibaltabu.com. Plus, get free weekly web comics on the Operative Network at http://bit.ly/combatshaman.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.