Harry Dresden Is Going Down Town In New Dynamite Miniseries

Dynamite Entertainment has announced the Spring 2015 launch of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files: Down Town, a contemporary fantasy miniseries featuring an original Jim Butcher story exclusively developed for the comic book medium, and set within official continuity of the fan-favorite Dresden Files novel series. Building upon the success of the graphic novel Dresden Files: Ghoul Goblin the new series will pit the titular wizard-for-hire Harry Dresden and a brand-new apprentice against a partnership of magic and mobsters.

Dresden Files: Down Town reunites series creator Jim Butcher, co-writer Mark Powers (G.I.Joe, Drafted), and artist Carlos Gomez (Deadpool, Pathfinder), the creative team of the preceding Dresden Files: War Cry and featuring cover artwork by Stjepan Sejic (Witchblade, Conan).

In Down Town, Harry Dresden and his new apprentice, Molly Carpenter, intend to end the havoc caused by a mad sorcerer, one whose ambitions would have the streets of Chicago carved out as his own private kingdom. But when the magical upstart enters into an alliance with the notorious mob boss "Gentleman Johnnie" Marcone, will the fast-and-loose Dresden and his young charge survive unscathed?

Jim Butcher says, "So many stories go through my head when I'm building the Dresden Files universe, but relatively few of them actually make it into the novels. Some of them are too short. Some are too long, or too involved, or (shudder) too preachy. Some of them simply aren't well suited to the written word, but would make tremendously fun visual pieces. That's what's in action here: Down Town is one of the stories of Harry and Molly's relationship during her tumultuous apprenticeship, and gets to showcase some aspects of what both of them are getting out of it. We get to see a villain that probably wouldn't have been appropriate for the novels, but who will provide a fun bit of story, especially for fans of Harry and Molly."

Dresden-Carpenter Dresden-Gard Dresden-Marconi Dresden-Mister Dresden-Rawlins Dresden-Sorcerer

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Dan WicklineAbout Dan Wickline

Has quietly been working at Bleeding Cool for over three years. He has written comics for Image, Top Cow, Shadowline, Avatar, IDW, Dynamite, Moonstone, Humanoids and Zenescope. He is the author of the Lucius Fogg series of novels and a published photographer.
website
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.