Posted in: Comics, Recent Updates | Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Shel Dorf Awards Winners This Year Shift Toward The Creator-Owned – The Complete List

ShelfDorfAwards_logoThe Shel Dorf Awards were bestowed on October 25th at Detroit's Fanfare Convention, and the big news was that Diamond founder Steve Geppi received the Shel Dorf Legacy Award. The other winners included a few surprises, but seeing so much Image taking the cake wasn't exactly outsider odds. We also have Boom! and a fraction of winners connected to DC and Marvel.

The Shel Dorf awards honor the "best and brightest talent" in the industry, but are based on fan voting. So the people have spoken and it's good to see some creator-owned taking the spotlight. The breakaway success here is clearly the newcomer Five Ghosts from Image by Frank Barbiere and Chris Mooneyham for mini series of the year. But let's just say again, as we did at the Harvey Awards, how good it is to see Fiona Staples getting some attention at last.

Here's the complete list of winners:

Editor of the Year: Steve Wacker (Marvel)

Cover Artist of the Year: Alex Ross (Marvel/DC)

Colorist of the Year: Fiona Staples (Image)

Letterer of the Year: Chris Eliopoulos (Top Shelf, Oni, Koyama, Boom!, Marvel)

Web Comic of the Year: Battlepug by Mike Norton (Creator-Owned, print with Dark Horse)

Syndicated Print Strip of the Year: Beardo by Dan Dougherty

Comic Blogger of the Year: Decapitated Dan

Comic to Multi-Media Adaptation of the Year: The Walking Dead

Self-Published Comic of the Year: Touching Evil by Dan Dougherty

Kids Comic of the Year: Adventure Time (BOOM! Studios/kaboom!)

Mini Series of the Year: Five Ghosts , by Frank Barbiere and Chris Mooneyham (Image)

Inker of the Year: Bill Sienkiewicz (DC, Marvel, Creator-Owned)

Penciler of the Year: Fiona Staples (Image)

Original Graphic Novel of the Year: District Comics: An Unconventional History of Washington DC , edited by Matt Dembicki (Creator-Owned)

Writer of the Year: Brian K. Vaughan (DC, Marvel, Vertigo)

Continuing Series of the Year: The Walking Dead by Robert Kirkman, Charlie Adlard and  Cliff Rathburn (Skybound, Image)

Spirit Award for Independent Comics: Jeff Smith (Creator-Owned)

Jerry Bails Award: Craig Yoe (Creator-Owned Studio with clients)

Shel Dorf Legacy Award: Steve Geppi


Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Stay up-to-date and support the site by following Bleeding Cool on Google News today!

Hannah Means ShannonAbout Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.
Comments will load 20 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.