Things To Do In New York This Week If You Like Comics

Tuesday, September 2nd

origins-of-comics-cover

The ninety-seventh meeting of the NY Comics & Picture-story Symposium will be held on Tuesday, September 2, 2014 at 7 pm at Parsons The New School, 2 West 13th Street, in the Bark Room (off the lobby). The event is free and open to the public.

Presentations will be "A Conversation with Thierry Smolderen" and a panel entitled "Comics in the University" with Ben Katchor (Parsons), Peter Kuper (SVA and Harvard), Jonathan W. Gray (John Jay College, CUNY), and Nick Sousanis (Parsons, Teachers College).  To celebrate the publication of the English-language edition of Thierry Smolderen's new book The Origins of Comics: from William Hogarth to Winsor McCay, (University Press of Mississippi) the author joins the event, via Skype, from France for a conversation. The panelists will then lead an audience discussion on the teaching of writing/drawing, history and critical study of comics and text-image work in the university.

Wednesday, September 3rd

10480562_10152324386533207_7346462810238688614_oJHU Comics will host a signing by James Tynion IV from 6-8PM at 32 East 32nd Street in New York. They say: "James Tynion IV is one of the most prolific comic writers of the year. There are other guys who have a bunch of titles to their name, but how many are writing a weekly Batman book? EXACTLY! It is with great pleasure that we will be hosting the release of the first volume of The Woods to trade paperback! James Tynion IV will be here signing copies of his awesome new horror comic that we're loving. The creep factor is high, and who doesn't love a good creepy book with holes in the fabric of space, weird monsters and exploding pheromones? Batman Eternal #22 will also be coming out that week, and you know you can't turn down a good Batman book! Purchase of The Woods Vol. 1 TPB or Batman Eternal #22 is required to participate in the signing".

Wednesday, September 3rd

10583905_755079737882795_4952014597786853477_n

A Carousel Comic Art Exhibition Opening and Live Performance will be held at Dixon Place Gallery at 161A Chrystie Street in New York. The Opening Reception will be held from 6-7:30PM and followed by a live Carousel comics performance at 7:30PM. The Exhibition will continue at the Gallery through October 3rd. They say:

"R. Sikoryak's Carousel is Dixon Place's longest continually running performance series, featuring a wide array of comic strip makers, graphic novelists, visual artists and luminaries from the downtown New York Theater and music worlds presenting work in front of a live audience. It seems only natural to show these artists' work on Dixon Place's Gallery walls. The exhibition will feature gag cartoons, graphic novel pages, painted storyboards and more on subjects including autobiography, classic literature, anatomy, and other heady topics.

The opening on September 3 will be followed by a Carousel live performance at 7:30pm, with many of the artists showing work in The Gallery. Info here: Carousel performance & exhibit, Sept. 3, 2014

Featuring work by :
Brian Dewan (musician, visual artist, filmstrip creator)
Emily Flake (gag cartoonist, "The New Yorker")
Danny Hellman (illustrator and cartoonist, "Typhon")
Miriam Katin (graphic novels: "We Are On Our Own" and "Letting It Go")
Jason Little (graphic novels: "Motel Art Improvement Service" and "Shutterbug Follies")
Dyna Moe (illustration & comedy, book: "MAD MEN: The Illustrated World")
Doug Skinner (cartoonist, "The Unknown Adjective and Other Stories")
Jim Torok (painter and cartoonist)
Kriota Willberg (cartoonist, "(NO) PAIN!" and "Pictorial Anatomy of the Cute")
R. Sikoryak (graphic novel: "Masterpiece Comics")
and more!"

Tickets are $12 (advance), $15 (at the door) $10 (students/seniors) or TDF
Info can be found at www.dixonplace.org (212) 219-0736.

Wednesday, September 3rd

soule_fbMidtown Comics Downtown at 64 Fulton Street in New York will host a signing with Charles Soule for The Death of Wolverine #1 from 6:30 to 8PM. They say: "We all know it's coming, Wolverine is finally going to meet his end in the Death of Wolverine series coming this September! Join Midtown Comics and Charles Soule for a signing of Death of Wolverine #1 at our Midtown Comics Downtown location on Wednesday, 09/03! Purchase of Death of Wolverine #1 is required. Limit of 2 signatures per person".

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.