Overwatch League Kicks Off Today – Here's How to Watch It

The Overwatch League is set to kick off today, bringing one of the most ambitious esports ventures to an open.

overwatch league

Last night, Overwatch saw a pretty big overhaul with a whole load of new skins supporting each team, so if you've played the game, you know how inescapable the launch is. Blizzard has been pushing the league to the max, and it's seemingly working, too. As someone who doesn't follow esports all that much, even I'm pretty excited about seeing it kick off.

Today it all starts with three fixtures set to see off the beginning of the whole competition. The first match will see San Francisco Shock take on Los Angeles Valiant — both fairly decent mid-tier teams. That will kick off at 4 p.m. PST / 7 p.m. EST / 12 a.m. GMT. The second match between Shanghai Dragons and Los Angeles Gladiators will kick off two hours later at 6 p.m. PST / 9 p.m. EST / 2 a.m GMT, and the main event will see two of the favourites for the league Dallas Fuel and Seoul Dynasty play. That match will start at 8 p.m. PST / 11 p.m. EST / 4 a.m GMT. For those of us in the UK, it might make more sense to catch the games on demand in the morning, which they will be on the league's site.

To watch the games, you have a couple of options. Twitch, MLG.com, the Overwatch League site or even the companion app for your phone will be showing off the games. It should be as easy as just showing up to any of those sites. It didn't stream on Twitch for the preseason, but I found the official site had a wonderful quality stream. Maybe check there first.

Have at it. I'll be right there with you.