The World Video Game Hall of Fame Announces the 2019 Finalists

The World Video Game Hall of Fame has announced the 12 finalists for the 2019 class of inductees today, which includes a range of classic to more modern games from Centipede to Super Smash Bros. Melee. All twelve finalists were chosen for their impact on the world of gaming and pop culture.

The 12 finalists are:

  • Candy Crush
  • Centipede
  • Colossal Cave Adventure
  • Dance Dance Revolution
  • Half-Life
  • Microsoft Windows Solitaire
  • Mortal Kombat
  • Myst
  • NBA 2K
  • Sid Meier's Civilization
  • Super Mario Kart
  • Super Smash Bros. Melee

"These 12 World Video Game Hall of Fame finalists span decades, gaming platforms, and countries of origin, but what they all have in common is their undeniable impact on the world of gaming and popular culture," offered director of The Strong's International Center for the History of Electronic Games, Jon-Paul C. Dyson, in a statement accompanying the news. "Whether it's a true pioneer like 'Colossal Cave Adventure,' a mobile gaming phenomenon like 'Candy Crush' that's been played by hundreds of millions, or a game like 'Mortal Kombat' that pushed boundaries and changed the landscape of the gaming industry, they're among the most influential games of all time."

Fans can vote for their favorite games to enter the Hall of Fame by voting on the official World Video Game Hall of Fame website.

About Madeline Ricchiuto

Madeline Ricchiuto is a gamer, comics enthusiast, bad horror movie connoisseur, writer and generally sarcastic human. She also really likes cats and is now Head Games Writer at Bleeding Cool.

twitter   globe