Ares Arise! 31 Artists Pay Tribute To Greek Mythology For Launch Of New Graphic Novel

If you have kids and are comics and graphic novels inclined, or simply a fan of mythology in comics like myself, chances are you've come across the Olympians series from MacMillan. These remarkably high-quality, emotional, and entertaining tales of Greek Mythology are drawn and written by Brooklyn-based artist George O'Connor and they've ranked in the New York Times Best-Seller list. George has a lot of friends in the comics community and they've gotten involved to spread the love for his latest release Ares: Bringer of War by doing tribute pin ups. 31 artists across 31 days. It's really very impressive. If you follow O'Connor on social media, you can see his daily releases of these images, but they are also posted on his Olympians Rule! Blog.

9781626720138-635x847The book is described thus:

The myth continues in the tenth year of the fabled Trojan War where two infamous gods of war go to battle. The spotlight is thrown on Ares, god of war, and primarily focuses on his battle with the clever and powerful Athena. As the battle culminates and the gods try to one-up each other to win, the human death toll mounts. Who will win this epic clash of power? And how many will have to die first?

The "Full Tour" list of contributing artists, dating back to the beginning of this celebration in January, is:

Tuesday, January 27th: Hazel Newlevant—http://newlevant.tumblr.com/

Wednesday January 28th: Tim Hamilton— http://hamilton-tim.pair.com/CUTBLEED/

Thursday, January 29th: Jerzy Drozd– http://comicsaregreat.com/author/jerzydrozd

Friday, January 30th: Reilly Brown- http://reillybrown.tumblr.com/

Saturday, January 31st: Leland Purvis – http://lelandpurvis.com/

Sunday, February 1st: Peter Violini – http://petarvee.tumblr.com

Monday, February 2nd: Dean Haspiel – http://deanhaspiel.com/

Tuesday, February 3rd: Ellen Lindner – littlewhitebird.com

Wednesday, February 4th: Michel Fiffe – http://michelfiffe.com/

Thursday, February 5th: Danica Novgorodoff – www.danicanovgorodoff.com

Friday, February 6th: Nathan Schreiber – http://nathanschreiberportfolio.tumblr.com/

Saturday, February 7th: Simon Fraser – http://simonfraser.net/

Sunday, February 8th: Robin Ha – http://robin.megaten.net/

Monday, February 9th: Khary Randolph – http://www.kharupt.com/

Tuesday, February 10th: Andres Vera Martinez – http://www.andresvera.com/

Wednesday, February 11th: Greg Benton – http://www.gregorybenton.com/

Thursday, February 12th: Nick Bruel – http://www.nickbruel.com/

Friday, February 13th: Jason Chin – http://jasonchin.net/

Saturday February 14th: Joan Reilly – http://joanreilly.com/

Sunday, February 15th: James Smith – http://www.jamesmith.org/

Monday, February 16th: Nick Abadzis – http://abadzone.tumblr.com/

Tuesday, February 17th: David Klein – http://www.illoz.com/kleinart/

Wednesday, February 18th: Sara Varon – http://chickenopolis.com/

Thursday, February 19th: Jason Little – http://www.beecomix.com/

Friday, February 20th: Christa Cassano – http://swinginmeatcomics.blog.com/

Saturday, February 21st: Lara Antal – http://www.lara-antal.com/

Sunday February 22nd: Douglas Einar Olsen – http://www.dougolsen.com/

Monday February 23rd: Evan Petersen – http://pulseart.tumblr.com/

Tuesday, February 24th: Maggie Scarlett Breen – http://maggiescarlettbreen.tumblr.com/

Wednesday, February 25h: Michael Horwitz – http://ihearthorwitz.tumblr.com/

Thursday, February 26th: Mike Cavallaro – http://66thousandmilesperhour.com/michaelwordpress/

A Selection of art from the Tour includes:

By Reilly Brown:

Ares(1) By Leland Purvis:

ARES_forGeorgeWEBBy Dean Haspiel:

Dino_AresBy Ellen Lindner:

ares_lindner_webBy Hazel Newlevant:

ares_fanart_digital(1)You can check out the new art as it is released on Olympian's Rule!, and George O'Connor can also be found on Twitter @GeorgetheMighty.

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.

twitter   facebook square