'Street Fighter V' Free To Play For A Week Starting March 28

Starting tomorrow, Street Fighter V will be free to play on PC as part of a bigger plan to root out some of the game's bigger issues. According to Capcom, they've been trying to iron out many of the connectivity issues we've been dealing with on the CFN (Capcom Fighters Network). You may notice it's sometimes sluggish and unresponsive, and having a match end because the game just wouldn't go is somewhat commonplace. But Capcom has apparently rebuilt the system from the ground up and need to test it properly with people who aren't already used to the CFN, which is why we're getting the game for free for a solid week between March 28 and April 3.

credit//Capcom
credit//Capcom

Capcom released a full list of what you can expect during the beta, but here are the highlights: All current player's stats will carry over to the new beta, and all the characters (including new ones) will be unlocked. The downside is that all of your stats earned during the beta will be wiped on April 3, which is being done so all you experience people who can wipe the floor with n00bs won't be able to cash in on the free wins. The beta also comes with all the Season 2 adjustments and balances for competitive players to test out, which means they'll be able to get in on opening day as well without any hiccups. The beta officially starts on Steam at 4pm EST (1PM PST) tomorrow, and ends at 3pm EST (Noon PST) on Monday, April 3.

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

About Gavin Sheehan

Gavin is the current Games Editor for Bleeding Cool. He has been a lifelong geek who can chat with you about comics, television, video games, and even pro wrestling. He can also teach you how to play Star Trek chess, be your Mercy on Overwatch, recommend random cool music, and goes rogue in D&D. He also enjoys hundreds of other geeky things that can't be covered in a single paragraph. Follow @TheGavinSheehan on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Vero, for random pictures and musings.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.