Things To Do In London In July If You Like Comics – Neil Gaiman, Melinda Gebbie, Steve Rude, Alejandro Jodorowsky, Dave Gibbons, Robert Crumb And More

I live in London. And it seems that, in 2014, it's The Year Of Comics. So many cool things happening in and around the city. Here's what's coming up in the coming month – feel free to send in your additions for updates!

Running through July:

Orbital Comics

Exhibition Nobody Knows What's Good Anymore – The SMASH! Art of Mickey Dallow, 1995-97

OrbitalSmashPoster

Mickey Dallow was one of the great lost artists of the YBA era. An associate of Hirst, Caine and the late Russell Roye among others he was a peripheral, though important figure in the art scene of the mid-to-late-1990s. To coincide with a new novel based on his life written by writer/musician Kirk Lake, Orbital is proud to exhibit previously unseen work from what Dallow described as his 'hulking' period.

Never Again! World War One in Cartoon and Comic Art

image

Cartoon Museum, running until October.

On display are famous works including Alfred Leete's much replicated finger-pointing recruitment cover forLondon Opinion (Britons Lord Kitchener wants YOU) and work by trenches favourite Bruce Bairnsfather ('Well, if you knows of a better 'ole, go to it'). There is also more recent material including drawings from the 'Horrible Histories' series by Terry Deary, and Martin Brown and Ralph Steadman's reworking of the 1980s comic strip 'Charley's War'.

Tuesday July 1st

Ladeez Do Comics

Folyles, 107 Charing Cross Road, 7pm – 9pm

Laydeez do Comics organisers from around the globe will contribute to a stimulating and fun evening of ideas and discussion, offering an international and national representation of how women are involved in the comics community. The evening will include short presentations of the participants' personal works and a panel discussion with refreshments served.

Wednesday July 2nd

Breaking into Comics ‎- The Art of Self Publishing

Westminster Reference Library, 35 St. Martin's Street

Author Christophe Bruchansky will give insight into his creative process, motivation and inspiration for "Omniscience"; his own sci-fi graphic novel, available on tablets (comiXology app and Google Play). Andrew Salmond, Manager of Gosh! Comics in Berwick Street Soho will discuss insider perspective into the market for graphic novels, current trends and how Gosh! selects books for retail. Artist Tom Pearce will talk about his his self-publishing experiences.

Quentin Blake: Inside Stories

Exhibition: 

House Of Illustration, 2 Granary Square, King's Cross London N1C 4BH

Mastering the Graphic Novel – Pushing the Boundaries, From Pitch to Publication (Short course)

British Library 18.30-20.30 – Book now

Whichever genre you choose to work in, discover how to push the limits of form to enhance the impact of your narrative. Learn how to create a professional script, approach publishers and target the right audience.

Gosh Comics

Hayashi-Poster-Web-723x1024

In celebration of Hayashi's famous 1969 "blues manga" Flowering Harbor being translated into English for the first time by Breakdown Press, Seiichi and Holmberg will walk listeners through the pop songs that have inspired Hayashi's work.

The event and will conclude with Seiichi Hayashi signing copies of the book.

Thursday 3rd July

Melinda Gebbie and Oliver Frey: Illustration on the Top Shelf

British Library, 18.30-20.30 – Book now

In the first half of this event in two parts, artist Melinda Gebbie talks to Rachel Cooke of The Observer about the  Lost Girls. And in the second half, Oliver Frey (aka 'Zack') talks to Rupert Smith about his art and career.

Friday 4th July

Neil Gaiman: The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains

The Barbican Centre.

In a revolutionary new concept of synchronised multimedia storytelling, Neil Gaiman will read aloud his story The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains. The renowned artist Eddie Campbell (From Hell) has illustrated the story and FourPlay String Quartet have created an entirely new underscore to the story. Hayley Campbell, author of the forthcoming book The Art of Neil Gaiman, will be interviewing Neil, Eddie and FourPlay on stage.

Alejandro Jodorowsky: Film, comics and conversation

British Library, 18.00-21.15

Alejandro Jodorowsky by David Cavallo

Alejandro Jodorowsky talks to Iain Sinclair. The event will begin with a screening of Frank Pavich's 2013 documentary Jodorowsky's Dune, followed at 19.45 by the conversation.

Orbital Comics

WWTCM-Launch-Night

Your Days Are Numbered magazine is taking over the Orbital Gallery from July 5 to 16 – but to kick things off they'll be hosting a  launch party on Friday July 4, featuring a signing with David Quantick and Shaky Kane from 6pm and a party at 7pm.

Saturday 5th July

Neil Gaiman: The Truth is a Cave in the Black Mountains

The Barbican Centre.

In a revolutionary new concept of synchronised multimedia storytelling, Neil Gaiman will read aloud his story The Truth Is A Cave In The Black Mountains. The renowned artist Eddie Campbell (From Hell) has illustrated the story and FourPlay String Quartet have created an entirely new underscore to the story. Hayley Campbell, author of the forthcoming book The Art of Neil Gaiman, will be interviewing Neil, Eddie and FourPlay on stage.

Monday 7th July

A British Revolution: 2000 AD and Beyond

British Library 18.30-20.00 – Book now

Some of the key figures in the story of 2000AD; Dave GibbonsFrazer Irving and Pat Mills, celebrate some of their favourite strips. Chaired by Toby Litt

Wednesday July 9th

Forbidden Planet,  6 – 7pm

Mike Dowling and Monty Nero will be signing the collected hardcover of Death Sentence from.

Friday July 11th

The London Film And Comic Con

Earls Court 2, 6pm-9pm

Gosh Comics

Gaimanbooklaunchweb

The launch party for Hayley Campbell's newest book The Art of Neil Gaiman, here at Gosh! Comics – the book is "about Neil Gaiman and all the stuff he's done. I interviewed him for a week in Scotland. I lived in his attic for a week in Wisconsin. It's taken four years to turn into a book with pages but it's here." With alcohol.

Orbital Comics

averyhill

South London micropublisher Avery Hill, are delighted to invite you to a party to celebrate the launch of their summer line of comics. With the writer/artist of the SICBA nominated The Beginner's Guide to Being Outside, Gill Hatcher (Team Girl Comic), Simon Moreton (Smoo) presenting his new collection, Days, artist of Metroland #1, Julia Scheele (I Don't Like My Hair Neat), Reads Vol.2 #1 artists Tim Bird (Grey Area, Infrastructure), EdieOP (Dangerfun, Offlife Magazine) and Owen Pomery (Between the Billboards, The Megatherium Club). With alcohol.

Saturday, July 12th

The London Film And Comic Con

Earls Court 2, 10am onwards

True Believers Awards,

Earls Court 2, 7.30pm

Sunday, July 13th

The London Film And Comic Con

 

Earls Court 2, 10am onwards

Monday 14th July

Robert Crumb, Gilbert Shelton and Friends: From the Comics Underground to the Courtroom

British Library, 18.30-20.00

This is a rare chance to hear both talk about their careers – and their impact on the British comics world. In R Crumb's case this reached national notoriety in the early 1970s when his work was at the centre of obscenity trials for Oz magazine's 'Schoolkids Issue' and Nasty Tales. Also taking part in the event will be others involved in the Oz trial; Charles Shaar Murray, Geoffrey Robertson QC and Deyan Sudjic.

Wednesday 16th July

Steve-Rude

Orbital Comics

In a very special London event, Steve Rude will be conducting a life-drawing class from 7.30pm. Tickets will sell out fast, £10 (includes refreshments)

Friday 18th July

Posy Simmonds and Steve Bell in Conversation

British Library, 18.30-20.30 – Book now

Posy Simmonds is one of the widest read and best-loved of all British illustrators and graphic novelists. She is joined in conversation by Steve Bell, lead political cartoonist for The Guardian, and best known for the satirical strip IF…

The International Graphic Novel and Comics Conference

British Library, 19.00–17.15 – Book now

Includes keynote speeches by Paul Gravett (Escape, Comica) and Pascal Lefèvre (LUCA School of Arts, Campus Saint-Lukas, Brussels, Belgium).

To see the full day programme, and to book conference places for the Friday only, click here

Saturday 19th July

Orbital Comics

SallyJaneThompson

Blood and Roses is an ongoing series of drawings and paintings by comic creator Sally Jane Thompson, inspired by the magical girl genre. Works that are equal parts bold and delicate use the genre's kitsch, decorative aesthetic, and ambiguous use of traditionally feminine visual motifs, as a space to play in. They explore representations of female hero narratives, conflict and strength through images featuring lively, soulful characters who seem to have stories to tell. The exhibition will feature the originals of all images created to date at the time, with prints also available.

The International Graphic Novel and Comics Conference

British Library, 09.00 – 17.00 followed by a drinks reception.

Includes a keynote lecture by Scott Bukatman (Stanford University) and Mike Carey (The Unwritten, The Girl with all the Gifts) and Dave Baillie (2000AD, Portal 666) together in conversation.

To see the full day programme and to book conference places for the Saturday only, click here

Book signing – Hayley Campbell signing The Art of Neil Gaiman

British Library, 14.00–15.00

Sunday 20th July

The International Graphic Novel and Comics Conference

British Library, 11.00 – 17.00

To see the full day programme and to book conference places for the Sunday only, click here

Tuesday 22nd July

She Lives! Flip Through Woodrow Phoenix

British Library, Comics Unmasked Exhibition 6pm

One of the highlights of the Comics Unmasked exhibition at The British Library is the remarkable one-metre-square giant comic, a one-off original-art wonder entitled She Lives!. It's a bit frustrating that this book-as-art-object in all its inky splendour and crinkling paper has to be housed securely inside a display case. But its creator Woodrow Phoenix is presenting the whole story to visitors during the run of the exhibition. His next 'performance' is tonight at 6pm, followed by 6pm on Tuesday 22nd July, then 3pm on Tuesday August 12th. There's a high-speed flip-through here to give you a flavour of the story and art – enjoy!

[vimeo]http://vimeo.com/93425264[/vimeo]

30th July

Comica Social Club

comica-social-club-seaside-special-480x354

The Central Bar, The Foyer, Royal Festival Hall,

A great big party that gathers every month on the last Wednesday. A delightful social occasion where you can meet, greet and network, with the finest human beings you could ever wish to meet in comicsland, on all things comics, graphic novels or related to events at the Comica Festival.

About Rich Johnston

Head writer and founder of Bleeding Cool. The longest-serving digital news reporter in the world. Living in London, father of two. Political cartoonist.

twitter   facebook square   instagram   globe