Things To Do In New York This Week If You Like Comics(UPDATE)

Tuesday, September 30th

ww3-cover

The 101st meeting of the NY Comics & Picture-story Symposium will be held on Tuesday, September 30, 2014 at 7 pm at Parsons The New School, 2 West 13th Street, in the Bark Room (off the lobby). The event is free and open to the public. Please note 7 pm starting time.The Presentation will be World War 3 Illustrated 1979-2014. They say: "Celebrating the release of a new 320 page hard-cover anthology, artist/editors Peter Kuper, Seth Tobocman, Sabrina Jones and Sandy Jimenez will give you a behind the scenes history of the of the long-running zine's past, present and future with visual presentations".

Wednesday, October 1st

10668878_10152369794263207_4642227256074165483_o

JHU Comics at 32 East 32nd Street in New York will host Neil Kleid, Matt Miner, and Christian Dibari from 6-8PM. They say: "Ah, the rule of threes! Three awesome comic related releases hit on the first day of October in 2014! Three fantastic creators will be represented on the shelves and we will have them in the the flesh!

Neil Kleid (Brownsville, The Great Khan) will be here for his Kraven's Last Hunt prose novel from Marvel Comics, which is an adaptation of the classic Spider-Man story in a new format.

Matt Miner (Liberator, Vertigo Quarterly) will be here for Critical Hit #1, which is his follow-up to the Liberator series with a new spin-off.

Christian Dibari (Ghost Cop, Deadpool) will be here for Cutter #1, a new weekly horror book from Image Comics that will run the month of October!

Purchase of Kraven's Last Hunt (Novel), Critical Hit #1 or Cutter #1 required for participation in signing event".

Wednesday, October 1st

Winter-Soldier-1WEB-517x800

Forbidden Planet NYC will host Ales Kot for a signing at 6PM. They say: "On October 1st Forbbidden Planet is pleased to once again have Mr. Ales Kot (Secret Avengers, Zero) as our in-store creator guest to sign copies of his brand new comic from Marvel- Bucky Barnes: Winter Soldier  #1".

Wednesday, October 1st

Archer-And-Armstrong-AgainWEB-517x800

Forbidden Planet NYC will host a signing by Pere Perez and Fred Van Lente at 6PM for Archer & Armstrong #25. They say: "Writer Fred Van Lente and Artist Pere Perez will be joining us on October 1st at 6pm to celebrate their run on Archer & Armstrong! Number 25 marks an anniversary issue with an all-star studded cast of creators joining Van Lente and Perez on the book, for what is sure to be an awesomely bombastic issue. Don't miss your chance to get it signed by its awesomely bombastic creative team".

Thursday, October 2nd

10635811_10152290007021428_3541047352143813018_nBook Thug Nation at 100 North 3rd Street in Brooklyn will host a release party and reading for On the Books, with readings by Gary Dale Burns, Uzodinma Okehi, Maud Pryor, And Greg Farrell from 7-9PM. There will be beer. On the Books is a "Graphic Tale of Working Woes at NYC's Strand Bookstore".

Friday, October 3rd

10653674_10152666761547158_4446582681809174340_nBergen Street Comics at 470 Bergen Street in Brooklyn will host a Book Release Party with Jane Mai, Saicoink, and Alabaster at 8PM. They say: "It's three times the cutting edge comics genius! Starting at 8PM, we'll be welcoming the amazing Saicoink, the inscrutable Jane Mai and the phenomenal Alabaster to the shop for an evening to comics mastery. Come and get a copy of Open Spaces & Closed Places 6, Sorry I Can't Come In Monday I'm Really Sick and Mimi and the Wolves Act II: The Den. This is going to be one heck of an evening, and opportunities like this are so rare as to be almost mythical!"

Saturday, October 4th

Screen Shot 2014-09-29 at 4.30.31 PM

4th World Comics, in Smithtown, Long Island, will be hosting a sale and signing by James Tynion IV and Michael Dialynas for their Image book The Woods. Both will sign other works also and Dialynas will also be sketching. 4th World are offering 20% off their entire store stock for the event. The signing will run from 12-4PM.

Sunday, October 5th

10645027_10152262136106428_6165240624315011893_n

Escape Pod Comics at 3o2 Main Street in Huntington, Long Island will also host a Signing and Release Party for On the Books from 5-7PM. They say: "Come celebrate the release Huntington Native Greg Farrell's new graphic memoir "On the Books: A Graphic Tale of Working Woes at NYC's Strand Bookstore".

This is part of Escape Pod Comics' larger Comictoberfest slate of events which include:

The Comictoberfest events also include:

Sunday October 5th: On The Books Signing with Greg Farrell
https://www.facebook.com/events/354448784713841/
Monday October 6th: World-Builder Antony Johnston
https://www.facebook.com/events/681960645234040/
Tuesday October 7th: Gotham Academy Party and Batgirl #35 pre-sale with Brenden Fletcher, Becky Cloonan & Karl Kerschl!
https://www.facebook.com/events/526633474149538/
Sunday October 12th: Alex DeCampi in store
https://www.facebook.com/events/894206797274592
Monday, October 13th: Fabrice Sapolsky in store
https://www.facebook.com/events/1542464295989337/
Sunday October 26th: Halloween ComicFest

*****NOTE: There are also quite a few New York Super Week events running this week, starting Friday, October 3rd, but frankly, they aren't very comics related. You can find those listings here.

If you like H.P. Lovecraft and Doctor Horrible's Sing Along, though, have a look. Coming up Next Week, however, there are a few more comics-relevant events related to Super Week, and we'll be sure to let you know about them. There is also significant crossover, though, with our Parties Listing relating to New York Comic Con and you can find that listing separately on Bleeding Cool also.

About Hannah Means Shannon

Editor-in-Chief at Bleeding Cool. Independent comics scholar and former English Professor. Writing books on magic in the works of Alan Moore and the early works of Neil Gaiman.