Hastings And Valiant Team For Comics College

Hastings stores across the country are teaming with Valiant Entertainment for a four-week Comics College. This follows up on last years The Craft of Comics series and will be broadcasted into 140 locations nationwide starting Saturday January 30th and running through Saturday February 20th. Each class will feature a Valiant writer or illustrator demonstrating the tricks of the trade.

Valiant will also be holding an art contest where aspiring artists nationwide are encouraged to illustrate and submit their favorite Valiant comics character in a captivating scene of their own choosing. From there, the winning piece will then be published as the official art for Hastings' exclusive variant cover for the VALIANT: 4001 A.D. FCBD SPECIAL.

Creators scheduled to stream during the workshop include:

WEEK ONE – HOW TO WRITE COMICS
Fred Van Lente (Writer, Archer & Armstrong; Ivar, Timewalker)
January 30th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK TWO – HOW COMICS ARE MADE
Robert Venditti (Writer, X-O Manowar; Wrath of the Eternal Warrior)
February 6th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK THREE – HOW TO BREAK INTO COMICS
Jody Houser (Writer, Faith)
February 13th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

WEEK FOUR – PORTFOLIO REVIEW
David Baron (Colorist, Bloodshot Reborn)
February 20th at 2pm ET (1pm CT, 12pm MT, 11am PT)

Contact your local Hastings location or visit GoHastings.com/ComicsCollege for more details and complete contest guidelines.

HASTINGS_COMICS COLLEGE

About Dan Wickline

Has quietly been working at Bleeding Cool for over three years. He has written comics for Image, Top Cow, Shadowline, Avatar, IDW, Dynamite, Moonstone, Humanoids and Zenescope. He is the author of the Lucius Fogg series of novels and a published photographer.

globe