Len Wein To Receive WGA Award With Tributes From Hugh Jackman And Neil Gaiman

It's been a little over two months now since the comic world lost iconic writer Len Wein. The co-creator of both Marvel's Wolverine and DC's Swamp Thing, Wein has worked on all the biggest properties including Batman, Spider-Man, Superman, Thor, Daredevil, and the Justice League, as well as being the editor on the industry-changing Watchmen series by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons.

Len Wein

Wein also worked in animation having credits on ReBoot, Wild Card, Pocket Dragon Adventures, Hypernauts as well as X-Men, Batman, Spider-Man and more. It's been announced that Wein will be receiving the Writers Guild of America West's 2017 Animation Writers Caucus Animation Writing Award. The ceremony takes place this evening at the WGA's Los Angeles headquarters. The award will be presented by DC Comics co-publisher Dan DiDio and be given to Wein's widow Christine Valada. As part of the ceremony, there will be video tributes from actor Hugh Jackman, who has portrayed Wolverine since 2000 appearing in nine films (two of those uncredited cameos). There will also be a tribute from writer Neil Gaiman.

As part of the announcement, WGAW President David A. Goodman said:

There are few writers in our industry whose work has made such a lasting impact as Len Wein. The current spate of superhero movies and television shows were not only inspired by Len's work in comics and animation, but amazingly continue to rely on his old scripts for material. I think one of the secrets to the longevity of his creations, such as Wolverine and the X-Men, was that to anyone reading or watching his work, you knew the writing came from a place of joy and love for the characters and stories he created.

According to the WGA, the AWC Animation Award is given to members of the Animation Writers Caucus or guild who have "advanced the literature of animation in film and television throughout the years and made outstanding contributions to the profession of the animation writer. Previous honorees include Mike Judge, Seth MacFarlane, Linda Woolverton, Brad Bird, Matt Groening, and Dwayne McDuffie.

Source: Deadline

Enjoyed this? Please share on social media!

Dan WicklineAbout Dan Wickline

Has quietly been working at Bleeding Cool for over three years. He has written comics for Image, Top Cow, Shadowline, Avatar, IDW, Dynamite, Moonstone, Humanoids and Zenescope. He is the author of the Lucius Fogg series of novels and a published photographer.
Comments will load 8 seconds after page. Click here to load them now.